Examen – Session 4

As found at: Ignatian Spirituality.com, this six-session series is led by Jim Manney, author of “A Simple, Life-Changing Prayer. Discovering the Power of St. Ignatius Loyola’s Examen”. See: Lunchtime Examen.

*****************************

This week, I had the privilege of bringing Jesus to a relative in the hospital, and making her laugh.  I brought her a hot chocolate from Tim Horton’s, and it’s that time of year when they have the “roll up the rim to win” contest.  I poured the remainder of her hot chocolate into a hospital mug so we could roll up the rim on the paper cup before I had to leave.  I told her that if we won the car, we would “blow this joint and go to Florida”.  She laughed out loud, doing both our souls good.  She will be 100 years old in a few weeks.

Session 4 (March 6 – 12, 2013) – Extract:  “A method of prayer that takes our feelings seriously.”

1) Father, show me what You think is important.

2) Gratitude – for the blessing of knowing God.

3) Review the day – slow the movie down when you get to a scene you think is important.

4) How did I react to things, even (or especially) to those things that were out of my control?

5) Resolve to act lovingly. Ask Jesus for help and guidance.

******************************

Another beautiful Lenten resource I’m following: 24-7 PrayerLent 2013 Walk With Us (podcast or video), starting February 13, 2013.

4 thoughts on “Examen – Session 4

  1. A good story! It’s been a while, I’m glad to see that you are both blogging and doing the examen, Gabrielle. Both inspire me … The examen is really the most powerful prayer, I have survived on it! And I like your idea of posting only so often, letting the prayer become your own before sharing too much … It’s like you’re digging for gold, and when you find it, you have to purify it and adore it first before it’s ready to be shared…. for myself, my blog posts are written offline, I post them when I’m ready….

  2. Thanks for taking the time to stop in, Jerome. I appreciate your comment about it being like digging for gold. I hadn’t thought of that analogy, but knew I was searching and examining in a different way from what I have been used to.

    No, we got “Please Try Again”, C, as usual. I’ve never even won a coffee or a doughnut! Re the examen, I don’t have a sense of it being really “productive” for me yet, but I think I’m getting more comfortable with it, at least. When I see Jerome saying that he has survived on it, I’m really struck again at how each of us is so drawn to different forms of prayer.

  3. Well, for sure, there were and are reminders these many decades that Little Therese often could not pray in set ways–a fact that reassures me I’m not necessarily a pagan clump of dryer lint destined for the brambles, but this simple Ignatian mode (perhaps especially coupled with aging/need for repentance) has Kindly put me closer, a Loving event that did not originate with me.

Leave a Reply

