Examen – Day 7

As found at: Ignatian Spirituality.com, this six-session series is led by Jim Manney, author of “A Simple, Life-Changing Prayer. Discovering the Power of St. Ignatius Loyola’s Examen”. See: Lunchtime Examen.

*****************************

Session 1

1) Ask God for light. I want to look at my day with God’s eyes, not merely my own.

Today I encouraged two people and helped them to see things more positively; Jesus’ light was in the workplace…

2) Give thanks. The day I have just lived is a gift from God. Be grateful for it.

I’m grateful that time seemed to expand this morning; I wasn’t rushed and got everything done that had to be done before leaving for work, with time to spare.

3) Review the day. I carefully look back on the day just completed, being guided by the Holy Spirit.

When was God especially present today? As I listened to the pray-as-you-go podcast on my way to work. How I love Isaiah – he always makes the Father feel very close by.

4) Face your shortcomings. I face up to what is wrong – in my life and in me.

Where did I fall short today? I was grumpy this morning.  The house was already noisy at 4:30 a.m. (please don’t ask me why, because I really don’t want to get into it…) and I didn’t have to get up until 5:45 today.  Ooooh, was I grumpy, knowing that I could have had some extra sleep, but it didn’t work out.  It entered my mind two or three times (heaven-sent thoughts) not to say anything about it, but I didn’t follow through on those Instructions, and well, let’s just say I didn’t spread joy.

5) Look toward the day to come. I ask where I need God in the day to come.

Where and how will I need you tomorrow, Lord? To help me be gracious to some expected visitors tomorrow; please don’t let me make them feel rushed in any way, just because I have a ton of work to do.

******************************

Another beautiful Lenten resource I’m following: 24-7 PrayerLent 2013 Walk With Us (podcast or video), starting February 13, 2013.

2 thoughts on “Examen – Day 7

  1. We lost touch…the stress and demands of this life. And I’m so sorry. Lately, you have been on my mind and in my heart, often. I decided it’s time to let you know.

    Xoxo Kristin

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Hi Kristin, wishing you and the family all the best for 2015, and hope you had a wonderful Christmas season. Yes, the stress and the overwhelm of the last year was with me too, and mostly everyone I know. Here’s to better coping skills this year, and a return to a prayerful life, if that went by the wayside too… Thanks for your message.

Leave a Reply

