Examen – Day 5

As found at: Ignatian Spirituality.com, this six-session series is led by Jim Manney, author of “A Simple, Life-Changing Prayer. Discovering the Power of St. Ignatius Loyola’s Examen”. See: Lunchtime Examen.

*****************************

Session 1

1) Ask God for light. I want to look at my day with God’s eyes, not merely my own.

I only came in contact with a few people today.  Maybe He smiled at someone in the grocery store through me, bringing a moment of forgetting their troubles.  He gave me extra rest (I had a nap this afternoon).  I offered today’s Mass and Holy Communion for Jesus’ and Mary’s intentions for graces for others this Lent.  I love thinking about how they do this.

2) Give thanks. The day I have just lived is a gift from God. Be grateful for it.

So many things to be grateful for:   going to Notre Dame de Lourdes for Mass this morning, the abundance in our grocery stores but shopping wisely nevertheless, the avocados from Peru (and not expensive), a quiet day and the anticipation of the Ontario holiday tomorrow (Family Day, no classes, yay!).

3) Review the day. I carefully look back on the day just completed, being guided by the Holy Spirit.

When was God especially present today?  Right this moment, as I am doing my examen.  The wind is howling outside tonight, but the kitchen is quiet.  I heard a line from Scripture inside of me: “But God was not in the wind.”  So I just went to look it up, and have just now re-read 1 Kings, Chapter 19, about the Flight to Horeb.  I hadn’t remembered this section, but it must have been the Lord who in His presence, right here, right now, wanted me to see these lines:  “Get up and eat, else the journey will be too long for you!  He [the prophet Elijah] got up, ate and drank; then strengthened by that food, he walked forty days and forty nights to the mountain of God, Horeb.”   What could this be but a personal word of encouragement to me from God for the forty days of Lent?  “After the fire there was a tiny whispering sound.”  Yes, I heard the whisper tonight.  It was inside me that I heard it; God was not in the wind.  I heard it, obeyed, took action, and was given encouragement.

4) Face your shortcomings. I face up to what is wrong – in my life and in me.

Where did I fall short today? I was a bit distracted during Mass today (my own fault, not because anything distracting was taking place).  It’s after 10:30 p.m. already, and I haven’t finished my daily prayers.  Also, I didn’t get my Lenten calendar/schedule done as I had wanted to – I opted for extra sleep instead.

5) Look toward the day to come. I ask where I need God in the day to come.

Where and how will I need you tomorrow, Lord? I would really love to know and feel Him with me tomorrow, guiding my organizing/scheduling, so that His plans, goals and Will are accounted for, not just my own.

******************************

Another beautiful Lenten resource I’m following: 24-7 PrayerLent 2013 Walk With Us (podcast or video), starting February 13, 2013.

2 thoughts on “Examen – Day 5

  1. Maybe it’s just ’cause the weekend struck (more snowindcold, more babysitting), but it’s only now I’m getting around to a more full Examen. They are very uncomfortable some days..
    1. I used to go in spirit to the Popes’ quarters and kneel beside the chair and *help* the Holy Father pray while I moved his slippers a little nearer his feet. I wouldn’t dare kneel beside Your Uber-Cathedra, nor touch Your slippers, but I hope You know that I’d like to.
    2. Every Mass day is a gift. Of Your very Self, of Your people, of Your children, of music, of our unity, of our peace.. Thank You so much for my getting there and back, to be with You, and them, and us. Thank You for having me.
    3. It was Sunday. You were everywhere!
    4. Yes, I walked out of Mass before the end. Between the inordinately loud, long and darned-near entirely Nigerian homily, and the child whom I would even more than the others nominate for endurance-whining (not to mention so many adults fidgeting every whichway every time I lifted my head –distractions, ye say, G??), I walked. It felt awful to do that. Please bear with me..I’ll find a better way, a different Mass time..
    5. If needed, please have my angel nudge me tomorrow regarding Your presence. That would sound rude to anyone but You, but then again, I miss Your presence more often than am aware of it. Again, I am the problem, but help me to be Your adoring me.

  2. “I miss Your presence more often than am aware of it.” I hear ya. My prayer is that this daily attunement through the examen will help us get back “what the devil has stolen”…

Leave a Reply

