Ash Wednesday – Examen Day 1

As found at: Ignatian Spirituality.com, this six-session series is led by Jim Manney, author of “A Simple, Life-Changing Prayer. Discovering the Power of St. Ignatius Loyola’s Examen”.  See: Lunchtime Examen.

*****************************

Session 1

1)  Ask God for light.  I want to look at my day with God’s eyes, not merely my own.

I find it difficult to look at my day with God’s eyes, even though I often pray that Jesus will let me see the world through His eyes and that He would be in me, seeing the world through mine. How did God view my day today? I guess He saw someone trying to balance work, family and life (just like everyone). He saw someone who got teary-eyed right at the start of Ash Wednesday evening Mass; someone who had to ask the Lord for energy all day long. Or is this just from my own viewpoint? What did He see?

2) Give thanks.  The day I have just lived is a gift from God.  Be grateful for it.

Thank you, God, for the extra sleep this morning, for the milder temperatures, for the evening Mass, the ashes, and our priests and deacons.

3)  Review the day.  I carefully look back on the day just completed, being guided by the Holy Spirit.

When was God especially present today? Well, of course, at Mass this evening, His presence was easily and strongly felt. But also when He urged me to make dinner for the hungry ones – something I hadn’t intended on doing today (I was going to let them take care of themselves – make something light for themselves).

4)  Face your shortcomings.  I face up to what is wrong – in my life and in me.

Where did I fall short today? I had an uncharitable thought about someone – fleeting, but nonetheless a thought; I continue to be fatigued and want to escape some of my responsibilities; I didn’t do too much extra for anyone today.😦

5)  Look toward the day to come.  I ask where I need God in the day to come.

Where and how will I need you tomorrow, Lord? In all things, in all ways, but some specifics I know: to help me teach my students well, to help me get my errands done; to help me prepare tomorrow night for my next-day students; to help me stay calm and keep trusting.

******************************

Another beautiful Lenten resource I’m following:  24-7 PrayerLent 2013 Walk With Us (podcast or video), starting February 13, 2013.

4 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday – Examen Day 1

  1. 1) I wonder if He saw in my day more, less or the same amount of my failure.
    2) Thank you, Lord, for yes, aspirin, breath, morning, the sun, the bird, and for my seeing someone nudge her husband delightedly over seeing mine at Mass tonight and for my seeing the K of C guy nodding “yes” all the way through the homily.
    3) Good news throughout the day, in the form of no bad news. Also, You were present tonight in some way I can’t describe, and it feels like it was always so.
    4) We’re all challenged to handle this papal abdication with trust and hope, rather than fear and sadness; I wish news media could handle it with as much respect as a mere president is given in a state of the union address. I had more than one uncharitable thought today.
    5) I’m going to kick off the day with two of Gab’s Lenten Resources I’ve bookmarked, and with The Glenstal Book of Prayer. Lord, the rest will depend heavily upon You!

  2. C, I tend to think of failure too, but I think we have to get past that somehow. I truly don’t think that’s the way God looks at us; it’s just difficult, I guess, to try to express what He might have been pleased about with us. I will look up the Glenstal Book of Prayer (sorry to say, I don’t think I’ve heard of it before). Thanks for joining in on the examen!

    Hi Owen SwainOwen. 🙂 Am just getting back into the swing of things, but I hope I can visit some blogs on the weekend. Hope you and the family are all well. Love, Gab MarieGab 🙂

    • I know, that was odd. I typed in my name where I should have been typing the email and then went back to enter the email but forgot to remove my name so it came out as it did. Well, you know who visited anyway.

      It’a lovely how you are beginning again at Lent when many folks (and rightly so for them for the right reasons) pull away from social media. I say it’s lovely because in a way being out-there during Lent can be a witness rather than allowing things to go dark. I understand both motivations.

      In terms of blogs, mine went down. Not a new phenomenon with me at all (ahem) but just recently I was looking to come back (again) and as I did the host went whacky and I haven’t had the wherewithal to get back to it. Probably will though. Off to Night Prayer. God bless.

Leave a Reply

