Jesus, Fountain and Abyss

If we were to look at just the first few words of the following two prayers, we might think they were written by Saint Faustina, so reminiscent are they of her Diary and the Divine Mercy Chaplet novena we are beginning today.

But they are actually from Saint Bridget of Sweden (14th Century) from:  The Magnificent Prayers of Saint Bridget of Sweden.  Based on the Passion and Death of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  I share today, on Good Friday, two of the fifteen prayers we received from The Revelations of Saint Bridget:

Seventh Prayer:

O Jesus! Inexhaustible Fountain of Compassion, Who by a profound gesture of love said from the cross, “I thirst,” and Who suffered from the thirst for the salvation of the human race, I beg of Thee, O my Savior, to inflame in our hearts the desire to tend toward perfection in all our acts, and to extinguish in us the concupiscence of the flesh and the ardor of worldly desires. Amen.

Eleventh Prayer:

O Jesus! Deep Abyss of Mercy, I beg of Thee, in memory of Thy wounds, which penetrated to the very marrow of Thy bones and to the depth of Thy being, to draw me, a miserable sinner overwhelmed by my offenses, away from sin and to hide me from Thy face, justly irritated against me; hide me in Thy wounds until Thy anger and indignation shall have passed away. Amen.

"The Crucifixion of Christ", a fresco from the church of the Holy Virgin at Studenica, 1202

One thought on “Jesus, Fountain and Abyss

Leave a Reply

