Lenten Love and Grace

We sang this beautiful song (These Alone are Enough, by Dan Schutte) at Ash Wednesday Mass this evening.  Perhaps you recognize it from your own parish as well.  I’ve always loved it, so I thought of posting it tonight if I could locate it online.  It is based on a prayer by St. Ignatius of Loyola from the end of his Spiritual Exercises:

Take, Lord, and Receive

Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty, my memory,
 my understanding, and my entire will.
All I have and call my own.
Whatever I have or hold, you have given me.
I return it all to you and surrender it wholly
to be governed by your will.
Give me only your love and your grace
 and I am rich enough and ask for nothing more.

As I continued my search, I found that this little prayer of St. Ignatius had been turned into a song called Take and Receive, but that wasn’t the one I was looking for.  Finally I found Dan Schutte’s song, and then I found Dan Schutte himself!  Sure enough, Ignatian prayer is not only central to Dan Schutte’s prayerlife but to his music as well, and very recently, to his newly-published book, Walking the Sacred Path. 

May I take this moment to wish you all a blessed Lent.  I’ll be back soon (maybe tomorrow) with some Lenten thoughts and plans (for more love and grace).

5 thoughts on “Lenten Love and Grace

  1. Thank you for your visit! I’m trying to be more dedicated to the sight. I’m afraid I have tended to ignore it at times. I hope this will change! Thank you so much for your visit and it is always grand to read your posts!!! Wishing you well!

  2. C, yes, and I’m sure his new book is a beautiful spiritual/prayer resource. Such a gifted man, and gentle and humble.

    Cathy, thank you, and I’ll be trying to visit more often as well. I’ll be putting a link up to your Lenten journalling site asap, and also putting it in my sidebar blogroll. Looking forward to sharing in the journey.

  3. Bless you Gabrielle…visiting your site tonight was one of those profound little instances where you find something you didn’t know you needed to find in the words of others. Onward to Easter…

Leave a Reply

