A First

From:  The Angels.  The Catholic Teaching on the Angels, by Fr. Pascal P. Parente.  pg. 31, from the section “The Language of Angels”

At the birth of Christ, the heavenly messenger of joy and of great tidings, an Angel of God announced the nativity of the Savior of the world to a few shepherds in the hill country around Bethlehem. Messengers had come down to earth many times since man’s creation, to advise, to warn, to help, or to punish man. On this occasion “a multitude of the heavenly army” was heard for the first time singing, caroling, and praising God and saying: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men of good will.” Only the Angelic mind could well understand the mystery of the Incarnation, and the great honor and dignity that had come to poor human nature when the Son of God, the Eternal Word, assumed and substantially united it to His Divine Person for all eternity.

And I just had to add this one, in light of some recent discouragements:

9 thoughts on “A First

  1. Hi Gabrielle – Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Blessings to you and your family.

    I really admire your new blog and visuals! Seems like WordPress has a leg up on blogspot these days. Our Lady of Perpetual Help – yes indeed. I’m sure I will continually desire for guidance and will ask her how I can be more true to my consecration… a Jan. 1st, 2011 no less. Do you you have any insights to share? I’m not sure of my commitment. How do I deal w/ not praying enough?

    God bless,

    -Paul

  2. Thanks to you both, Carol and Paul, and a Happy New Year to you and your families as well.

    Paul, that’s wonderful, and I thank you for telling us about your consecration to Mary. Just take things a day at a time, is what I usually say to people. Just the fact that you say you desire guidance and will always be asking Mary for it is such a positive indication of the direction you’ll be heading in – greater and greater intimacy. Don’t be too hard on yourself; Mary understands our humanity. Don’t be too easy on yourself; Mary knows how much you can do with the graces you will receive through consecration and the graces she will obtain for you every day. My prayers are with you for a very special and blessed day on Jan. 1st!

  3. I had missed the move to the new location and had been looking longingly at my RSS feeds for updates from the Contemplative Haven. As is typical of most things in my life lately I finally stumbled upon the new location and placed it, once again, in a prominent position on my homepage. The Haven was lost but now is found!

  4. Thanks, Terry. Not too many people know I’m here, because I can’t get into my old blog to tell them, and what with Christmas and studying, etc., I haven’t had time to visit other blogs much, and those I check in on are very quiet too. Well, I am (although the indications aren’t apparent here yet) 🙂 looking forward to a productive year. All the best to you and yours in 2011!

    Silver, thanks for visiting. I’ve just gone over to see your blog, and it’s very beautiful and thoughtful. I want to express my condolences on the loss of your husband three years ago. I’m sure that the way you are journalling through your grief in such a gentle and honest way is helping others as well. I pray that 2011 will bring great blessings and peace to you and your children.

  5. Hi Gabrielle – I too was looking at your new blog location, and then one thing led to another, and … well, a companion site was born: http://alivingmonstrance.wordpress.com/. There’s a long quote on the original site that explains what the difference is. Well, I admire your blogging, and your feedback is always appreciated!

    I like the “Don’t let nobidy drag your spirit down” – a great one

    Jerome

Leave a Reply

