Spirit and Song

I came across a great site recently as I was searching for some Catholic music: SpiritandSong.com, which was developed in association with its sister organization, OCP Publications (Oregon Catholic Press).

SpiritandSong.com describes the site as,

…a virtual faith community, a place where Christians of all ages can experience faith-building music, online prayers, devotions and much more.

Offering the latest releases by both big-name artists and emerging new talents, spiritandsong.com is THE place for contemporary Catholic music. Link and listen online anytime with streaming audio, download songs, and get updates on new releases through our newsletter. spiritandsong.com also gets you closer to the artists – and supports them in their ministry – with full-length profiles, concert and event listings and booking opportunities.

There’s so much to choose from at spiritandsong. There is free music to download, lovely playlists in the left-hand sidebar, links to various artists’ websites and podcasts, little videos by the artists, a “Song of the Week” as well as a “Song of the Week Archives” (I love that the artists have written their own pages where they share their faith and talk about what influenced them to write the songs), a free Liturgy podcast, an online store where you can purchase CDs or tracks, thoughtful reflections on a variety of Catholic topics, and much more.

Here is a beautiful song, new to me, that I just love:

Empty“, from Tom Booth’s CD entitled “Captured”. The song was co-written by Robert Feduccia.

 

4 thoughts on “Spirit and Song

  1. Hi Gabrielle,

    I came upon your blog this morning and I was so touched. Tom and I wondered if people would understand what “Empty” was all about, but have it mentioned in a blog about contemplative prayer is so affirming to us. Yes, it is about the encounter with the Lord that happens in contemplative prayer. Thank you!

    I also wanted to share this with you. My patron is also Our Lady of Perpetual Help. This past winter, I wrote this reflection on her:

    http://www.spiritandsong.com/articles/14582

    Blessings on all you do!
    Robert Feduccia

  2. Hello Robert – it’s so nice to “meet” you. Your comment got held up a bit just because there was a link in it, but then, of course, I got “waylaid” reading your reflection on Our Lady of Perpetual Help’s great guidance in your life, as well as by Jenny Pixler’s beautiful song, ‘Be With Us, Mary’.

    I know in your reflection that you linked to you talk about what happened back in 1991/92, but was the reflection itself written just recently? If so, and you are feeling Our Lady’s guidance and patronage very strongly right now, I join you in prayer tonight that both she and the Holy Spirit will help you discern more easily where you are being led now, and to what/whom…

    If you look in my categories here (Blessed Virgin or Icons) you can hopefully find, if it interests you, some posts I did on the Redemptorist Fathers’ method of meditating and entering into contemplative prayer using the icon of OLPH. Also, on my other blog, ‘Consecrated to Mary’, you can find some posts on the beautiful and mysterious history of the icon itself.

    Re “Empty”, of course, amongst all the beautiful songs at spiritandsong, you know a contemplative would click on that first🙂, as well as Sacred Silence and Solitude Song. 🙂

    As I was listening to it and reading your reflection on what influenced it, I couldn’t help but think of Caryll Houselander’s, “The Reed of God”; myself and many of my readers here have been greatly touched by that book. When you speak of emptiness being like nakedness before God, and when you speak to people about what they are using to fill up the emptiness and hide the nakedness (what are your fig leaves?)that only God can fill (status, things, drugs, other people, experiences…) it is the negative kind of emptiness, as Houselander describes in her Chapter 1 of Part 1 (Emptiness): “Emptiness is a very common complaint in our days, not the purposeful emptiness of the virginal heart and mind but a void, meaningless, unhappy condition.” And then there is the positive emptiness, what she calls the virginal quality, or emptiness: “It is not a formless emptiness, a void without meaning; on the contrary it has a shape, a form given to it by the purpose for which it is intended. It is emptiness like the hollow in the reed, the narrow riftless emptiness, which can have only one destiny: to receive the piper’s breath and to utter the song that is in his heart…” It’s an amazing book, Robert; if you haven’t had a chance to read it, I highly recommend it…

    Anyway, thank you for all the hard work you and your colleages/contributors put into spiritand song – I’m so glad I found it.

  3. So many gifts, always the one giver.

    Glad you’ve found this site, Gabrielle, as I know how much music / song means to you.

    I often think the ministry of music is a little under rated at times and yet there are bound to be millions of people out there whose encounter with God came about through music or lyrics or as simple a thing as a bell ringing, calling them to pray.

  4. I’m very glad I found it too, Ann, not only for the much-appreciated music but for the reflections, and the info as well. I was listening to the Liturgy Podcast for this upcoming Sunday, for instance, and the podcaster mentioned something I had never heard of – that a couple of years ago Pope Benedict XVI said that out of respect for our Jewish brothers and sisters we are no longer allowed to use the word Yaweh in the liturgy, neither spoken nor in song. I had no idea, and I guess my parish doesn’t either, because we still sing one song in particular (that I love) in which the name Yaweh is used. I googled this because I was so shocked that I hadn’t heard about it, and it is true…

Leave a Reply

