Divine Mercy Sunday

Divine Mercy

From the Diary of St. Faustina (#742).  Jesus says:

…I am giving you three ways of exercising mercy toward your neighbor:  the first – by deed, the second – by word, the third – by prayer.  In these three degrees is contained the fullness of mercy, and it is an unquestionable proof of love for Me.  By this means a soul glorifies and pays reverence to My mercy.  Yes, the first Sunday after Easter is the Feast of Mercy, but there must also be acts of mercy, and I demand the worship of My mercy through the solemn celebration of the Feast and through the veneration of the image which is painted.  By means of this image I shall grant many graces to souls.  It is to be a reminder of the demands of My mercy, because even the strongest faith is of no avail without works.

7 thoughts on “Divine Mercy Sunday

  1. I am thinking of these 3 things today. Thank you. St. Faustina’s book may be the only one I read this year. I will pick it up tonight.

  2. I always feel that the devotion to Divine Mercy is the poor stepchild to my devotion to the rosary. But I did make it a point to say the chaplet before going to bed last evening. I hope amd pray that I may be worthy of the Divine Mercy of Christ, that I may practice that Mercy when the opportunity presents itself and that I may elevate the devotion to the Divine Mercy of Jesus in my daily devotion.

    One more thing…one aspect of the chaplet of Divine Mercy that attracts me is that it is an appeal directly to the Father and asks for His mercy in light of the great sufferings of his Son. Even though the image is of Jesus,and recognizes the Divine Mercy that is shown by and flows from Jesus the prayer itself is directed to the Father. Somehow that just elevates the whole prayer experience for me. Don’t know exactly why but it does.

  3. Sheila, although I had read this passage many times before, this time it struck me that the three ways of exercising mercy (deed, word and prayer) are closely connected to the “prayer, almsgiving and fasting” we highlight during Lent. For example, just as almsgiving can be literal or in the sense of time/service, and fasting can be literal or in the sense of giving up certain other entertainments or releasing ourselves from attachments, I was thinking that the mercy-related deeds and/or words can be literal (in the form of outward visible actions) or can quite often be a case of hidden sacrifice and fasting – sacrificing or fasting from our own egos and our need to be right in order to bring Christ’s comfort, compassion and mercy to another. St. Faustina’s Diary is a never-ending source of inspiration and reflection.

    Terry, I agree about how beautiful and elevating it is in knowing that our prayer in the Divine Mercy Chaplet is directed to the Father, and this year during the Divine Mercy Hour I was more aware of it than before. And I saw/felt the “sameness” of what happens during the sincere recitation of this Chaplet and what happens during the Mass.

  4. Two Images ? And why does St. Faustina promote it and not St. Catherine, St. Joseph, St. John etc etc

    The lay apostle ‘anne’ says….

    Soon after, in another locution St. Faustina said to Anne: “The image of Jesus Christ the Returning King should be spread throughout the world. Like the image of The Divine Mercy, this image of Christ will be widely recognized as a source of goodness and healing. All who venerate this image will be blessed. I am grateful that God allows me the privilege of assisting in this mission. Each apostle should feel the same way and each apostle should thank God for being chosen to serve. Such joy flows from heaven. Bask in the joy, dear apostles, because your King is returning.”

    The fully approved version about the Image of Mercy is the following of what Jesus actually said to St. Faustina, the Secretary of Divine Mercy ….

    On February 22nd, 1931 Jesus appeared to her with rays radiating from His heart and said,
    Paint an image according to the pattern you see, with the signature: Jesus I trust in You. I desire that this image be venerated, first in your chapel, and throughout the world. (Diary 47)

    I promise that the soul that will venerate this image will not perish. I also promise victory over its enemies already here on earth, especially at the hour of death. I myself will defend it as My own glory. (Diary 48)

    I am offering people a vessel with which they are to keep coming for graces to the fountain of mercy. That vessel is this image with the signature” :Jesus, I trust in You.” (Diary 327)

  5. How do we know what Jesus said to Faustina –or if He said it? Just as how do we know what He didn’t say to Anne, or did say, if He said it. We don’t; it’s a matter of faith. All I know for sure is that the parishes of all my life and of my loved ones around the country STILL do not honour the Divine Mercy anything. However, are more folks paying more attention to Him because of the new contemporary apostles of His (time-shortened) mercy? Well, folks’re being invited — and are showing up — at confessionals and Eucharistic chapels! That is not the devil’s work, even if some think it detracts from the Divine Mercy.

    Some folkks have a real problem with Medj, too. What can we say? These apostles, and Medj, are two private revelations which are not fully DISapproved of. Jesus said to His apostles, “If they are not against us, they are for us.” Why doesn’t everyone take a wait-and-see? Or prove to me what Anne may be gaining from this. Meanwhile, was it Pope Urban who said it’s alright to believe unless and until something is totally disproved? Some early Church fathers were found to be wrong in thinking this or that, and later ones were found to be right.

    I look around me, both in person and online, and I do not find anyone who’d listen deeply to a remote St. Faustina, enclosed nun. And do we even deserve such? No. We might listen to an Anne, though –as has Dr. Miravalle, etc. Anne’s messages, whether received or perceived, call one to complete conversion and surrender so that Jesus and the saints may grant the graces He’s always been holding. The Lord writes straight with crooked lines.

    I myself have more faith in Faustina’s messages, and if I had to pick one, I’d pick that one –but I don’t have to, and I’ve found nothing in Anne’s that is against Church teaching– and neither has the Church, as best I know. Whether fortunately or not, I don’t pay much attention to images –that, to me, is secondary to His message, though my house bears the Divine Mercy image because I most certainly do trust in His divine mercy, so I’m not conflicted about the “two images.” The slams against Anne, as the slams agains a Fr. Gobbi, make central and of more interest THESE people than the Jesus these people are trying to promulgate.

  6. Hello Josephine, and welcome. I’m not quite sure about your comment here, since my post contains the Divine Mercy image and a quote from St. Faustina, but perhaps you meant to leave this on another post in which we were discussing the Lay Apostles of Jesus Christ the Returning King.

    I don’t know if you had time to read anything in my archives, but if you look under the categories re DFOT you will find a post in which I explained how the image of Jesus Christ the Returning King was given to Anne by the Mother Superior of St. Faustina’s order. Also, if you read the comments in various posts to do with DFOT and the Apostolate, you will be able to see how these questions have already been discussed, and my own responses. If you have time to look at the DFOT Youtube Channel, you will see messages from many saints to Anne, not only those from St. Faustina.

    Carol, thank you for such a thoughtful and balanced comment. Apart from my personal experience of graces received through the Messages and my association with the Apostolate for over a year now I would just like to reiterate, for Josephine or any others that are reading here, that there is no “competition” existing here, and that Jesus is giving us unprecedented graces for these times in which we are now living. This Apostolate not only promotes the Divine Mercy always and everywhere in the books and in their daily schedule (Anne is a regular speaker at the Divine Mercy conferences as well) – Anne has been forthright in always saying that being a Lay Apostle in no way detracts from any other apostolate or 3rd Order or lay order we may belong to. There is no time left for any nonsense or bickering or infighting; there are too many souls at stake. We move forward always, and we can see the hand of God in this work as it is spreading so rapidly across the globe. The truth is, the Lay Apostles are spreading Faustina’s message of Divine Mercy to a larger and larger segment of the population, along with the teachings in the Messages of how Jesus wants us to help during this time of renewal.

  7. Oh, Gab, thank you so much for clarifying. Amen.

    “The truth is, the Lay Apostles are spreading Faustina’s message of Divine Mercy to a larger and larger segment of the population, along with the teachings in the Messages of how Jesus wants us to help during this time of renewal.” Yes. And though I have read the Lay Apostles Messages, I’ve not yet absorbed them; however, indeed, the thing I most wanted to say is what you said: There is no competition.

    I am tired of folks picking on imperfect Anne — her priest or bishop said not to focus on her (she wants no such thing, either), nor to invade her privacy. The commandments say the rest of the shall-nots.

    Indeed, there may be little time. We need to pick our battles wisely.

Leave a Reply

