Mary, Mother of God

Bogoroditza

She was, par excellence, a laywoman, a mother and a spouse, an ordinary woman as far as human eyes could see.  Christ came through her, and she will help us, better than anyone else, to find him in the hubbub and noise of our technology, in the confused maze of our immense urban development, in the quiet, silent, dangerous spaces of the universe that we are discovering.  For she is the guiding star of creation, the Bogoroditza, this woman who has given birth to God.  Her name in Russian means just that.  One whole sentence in one word.

So let us re-think.  Better, let us re-pray our approach to Mary.

[Catherine Doherty, Bogoroditza, pg. 26]

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

Yes, we are a new breed of contemplatives, whose monasteries and convents are the busy streets of new pagan cities.  They are the noisy thoroughfares of immense metropolises that sing the hymns of the flesh, the world and the devil.  Our place will be the endless rural roads that would be God’s if men who hate him or do not know him did not travel on them.  Those immense countrysides hold almost invulnerable the secret of man’s inhumanity to them.

Yes, we are a new breed of contemplatives, who must learn repose, rest, on the breast of God, listening to the perfect music of his heartbeats whilst we go about his business and that of his Father.  It will be amongst one of the most broken down, discordant, uneven, out of pitch music that the world ever heard.

[Catherine Doherty, Bogoroditza, pg. 134]

Please remember Madonna House in your prayers, and if possible your donations, in 2010.

9 thoughts on “Mary, Mother of God

  1. Out into the marketplace of life we go, guided by Mary, the ‘ guiding star of creation’ , and encouraged by the fact that we know we are doing what is pleasing to God.
    A very holy and peaceful New Year to you, Gabrielle. I will keep the ongoing efforts of Madonna House in my prayers.

  2. I don’t know when she wrote the phrase “we are a new breed of contemplatives, whose monasteries and convents are the busy streets of new pagan cities,” but it’s sad that it was true even back then.

  3. Ann, thank you so much, and the very same to you…and special thanks for your prayers for Madonna House; they are greatly appreciated, I know, even if they rise up to heaven unbeknownst to the Apostolate – their effects are felt, as we know.

    Carol, it’s hard to pinpoint exactly because although Bogoroditza was published in 1998 with a second expanded edition in 2001, it is a collection of Catherine’s writings/lectures on Mary from over the years, as Linda Lambeth points out in the Foreward (Linda compiled the writings for the book). Linda tells us in the Foreward that Catherine had had a burning desire to write a book on the Mother of God, but that she entered her last illness before she was able to do so. The passage I quoted in my post to which you are referring (pg. 134) is taken from the second part of the book which is entitled, “Mary’s School of Love”, and Linda notes that everything in this second part was either written or given as lectures to Madonna House Staff over the years.

  4. A little unrelatedly, last night I re-read your post of a couple years ago (2007/10/05/st-faustina-and-the-mother-of-mercy..), and realized as I read my own foolish comments that I, too, wasn’t reading the full import of the phrase, and I do think it ties in with the visual thought of today which I’ve mentioned elsewhere. At any rate, I hope my angel will remind me to get something –anything– of Catherine Doherty’s. Remind me, sometime, will ya? I’m so brain-less in this cold white land.
    :-\

  5. Carol, I must go read it to refresh my memory… re a book by Catherine, yes, I will remind you…or I will remind your angel…

    Terry, I know. Stay strong; you have prayers from many…

    Mike, you can order Catherine’s books from the Madonna House link!

  6. Dear Gabrielle, I am so happy to have found your wonderful blog. I too live and work in the world, but seek to live a quiet life of contemplation among the noise and bustle of a large metropolitan American city, offering prayers for those around me. I know I will find much inspiration in your posts! May God grant many graces to you and your family this year.

  7. Thank you, Miss Linda (!) I truly appreciate your comment; knowing that we can support and encourage each other in the world is very comforting. Blessings to you and yours in 2010 as well, and may you be guided and given much aid as you live the contemplative life in your hectic surroundings.

Leave a Reply

