La Neige

Does anyone remember this?  Well, it’s not quite that bad yet, but this morning we awoke to far too many centimetres of the white stuff, with howling winds and blowing snow.  But I absolutely had to go to the office, so I donned my heavy coat, wrapped a navy-blue scarf (as attractively as possible) around my entire face, tucked my hair completely underneath my toque, and off I went.

When I arrived and entered the lobby, our current receptionist, who has been with us for nearly four years, stared and stared at me.  After I had unwrapped my scarf and taken off my toque she burst out laughing and told me she had been thinking, “Who is that woman?  I know those eyes…”

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Self Portrait

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

8 thoughts on “La Neige

  1. Not bad at all. At least you look like a human being which is more than I would look like if I attempted to portray myself.

    I sure don’t envy you inhabitants of the Great White North. I can barely stand it and it’s still in the 40-50 degree (F) range here. Makes me shiver just thinking about it.

  2. Are you close enough to our Northeast to be getting our snow at the same time– or us, yours? O, I hope so.
    :o)
    What does “la neige” mean (if it’s alright or the kiddies to see. Actually, the way I read it, it sounds more like a cat-sneeze than a swear-word.)
    :o)
    I love the drawing –how is something like that done? You’re so cute. I’m sure I’d remember those eyes, too.
    :o)

  3. I would have preferred the white stuff to the torrential rains we got yesterday (Philadelphia, PA). Fortunately I made a large investment at the beginning of the year to put drains and pumps in our basement so the sound of the pumps have replaced the screaming wet-dry vacs!

  4. Hey another Philly pholk (though technically I’m no longer: I moved to Italy)!! Hi!

    Carol, la neige means snow!! en français naturellement!

    Gab, you robust canadian, you! You are brilliant!! how cute!

  5. Carol, I am deeply wounded that you would even think I might consider putting a swear-word in a post title. I save them for spontaneous moments of shock and fear. 😉 Re snowstorms and other weather conditions, I have often noticed over the last few years that you get the same as we do at the same time, although I don’t think it comes from the same direction – we get it usually coming from the west of Canada.

    Re drawing pictures, the way I do it is this: any pictures I save (eg., from the Internet) go into a program called Windows Picture and Fax Viewer. If I double-click on a picture I’ve saved, it opens up in this program. Then if you right-click in the upper lefthand corner it will give a dropdown menu and you click on “edit”. Then you’ll get another menu and if you click on “image” you can “clear” the original image and draw in whatever you want and even add text. Then save it under another name so you don’t lose your original image. It’s fun, you can experiment, you can draw something for yourself and even save it for your desktop background or whatever you want.

    Ken, I would have to agree with you. Flooded basements are a nightmare I have been spared, but plenty of my friends have not. I think you made a very wise investment!

    Pia, I’m just a kid at heart, and would still much rather play in the snow than get rid of it. 🙂

  6. Well, geezLouise–
    be only grazed, please
    –you know I don’t think things through!

    And someday, should my brain stop jumping out of second gear and grinding into third, so that fourth isn’t a futile dream, I will try drawing per the above. (Thank you! Sounds fun!)

    Ken, husband made a sump pump hole in the basement, after flood #4, wherein the washing machine and dryer went up on pallets, too. I don’t know how it works — I leave that to the technical — I just clean it out now and again–from errant kittens, and this year from a toppled Napoleon Dynamite statue as well as a Christmas angel. Why is it that the mice never fall in?

  7. C, oh please do! I would love to see a little self-portrait from each of you! You can draw yourself several decades younger, like I did! (or is it the bitter cold that keeps me wrinkle-free???) I’ll never tell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

