Feastday of St. Pio

Padre Pio

…few are the times when I manage to contemplate with my intellect.

Very often, what happens to me then is that when the continuous thought of God, of whom I am always aware, distances itself a bit from my mind, I suddenly feel myself touched by our Lord right at the center of my soul in such a soothing and penetrating way that, more often than not, I am forced to shed tears of sorrow for my infidelity and for the tender mercy of having a Father who is so good to call me back to His presence….

It seems to me that time flies by rapidly and I never have enough for prayer. I am very fond of good literature, but I read very little both because I am hindered by my infirmities and because, after opening a book and reading briefly, I find myself so profoundly absorbed my reading becomes prayer.

[From: Secrets of a Soul. Padre Pio’s Letters to His Spiritual Directors, pgs. 55-57]

11 thoughts on “Feastday of St. Pio

  1. I think his tears were of astonishment, too. There was a little a-ha moment recently which I cannot recall–not about nature but about man–that left me saying in grateful marveling, “You’ve got that covered! You’re so wonderful.” These moments fill one’s eyes. It all leaves me wondering if I’m done with pious sorrowing, because that happened quite a while back and has not returned in any sustained manner. And I have wondered about that, because I am overall a horror show– yet with our honesty and sincere contrition and running to Him (as did Dysmas), He is indeed that full of kindness –and surprises.

    From many sudden a-ha moments and knowing how unfettered by time/history He is, one can only think of Infused prayer as Resurrection prayer.

  2. Carol, yes, astonishment and gratitude I think, that the Father, in His mercy, would only allow St. Pio such a short time with any distance (distraction) between the two of them. So beautiful to think of.

    Hello, Ginny. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I have a few books about Padre Pio. I like these letters to his spiritual directors because they really help us to understand his interior life better.

  3. One doesn’t get much commentary from the other most well-known Wounded, St. Francis, but it’s a tad frightening to read the post-Stigmata Pio, isn’t it? Whereas somebody’s always worse off than me or mine, I gave away a relic of his brought from Italy, along with one of St. Anne and the one of St. Anthony of Padua (a long time fave saint) that I’d had for years upon years which did something strange when held in one’s hand, and of course, Ireland has their St. Therese Couderc/Coudere from John’s aunt, now, but St. Pio is ever near–as near as a thought from one of his spiritual children. No doubt all the saints are, but he is reported to have said so. Since he got hijacked here online by the hard side, it is doubly consoling to read his sweet words again. I have none here in the house, so if you wanted to quote from him now and then, I’d not put up much of a fuss. Yes, it is beautiful to read that the Lord said to him, “Alright..come back now.” We have read that He is a jealous God. 🙂 He is, in such a Good way.

  4. Thanks for posting about this Gab. I thought about what day it was, but that was before the 23rd…and after the 23rd. On the 23rd I was rushing around trying to help massimiliano get ready for his trip to the States. Now that I get a moment to catch my breath, I’ll read…this and some of my own books.

  5. Carol, I do find a much softer side of Padre Pio in these letters, compared to what we often see and read of him, which could strike fear into any of our hearts! He had a rough, gruff, fearsome manner in many of the accounts I’ve read, but these letters have cast a different light on him for me. I’ll try to remember to post some more excerpts off and on; remind me if I forget!

    Hi Pia; I thought of you on the 23rd, the day of your patron saint! I hope Max has a safe and fun-filled visit to the States. I’m sure you’ll be missing him moooocho.

    Hi Elizabeth and Sheila; thanks for stopping by!

  6. I can hardly believe another year of A Month For The Souls In Purgatory is just around the corner for our family. Padre Pio is always a part of that time for us. God bless you Gab.

  7. Terry, he had a very concise theology, didn’t he. 🙂 Not too much straw.

    Owen, I agree – where did the time go? Your comment, and remembering what you were up to a year ago, just made me realize (again) how grateful I am for having had all of you online friends in my life for the last few years. I really treasure in my heart having shared our lives.

Leave a Reply

