File Does Not Exist

If no one told me who I was, who would I be? Quietly meditate on this by spending some time in the spaciousness of not knowing. Imagine that your subconscious mind is nonexistent and there is no storage receptacle for excuses during your life. There’s just an open and inviting clear space inside of you – a tabula rasa, or blank slate, with a magical surface that nothing adheres to. You might imagine that your everyday conscious mind simply doesn’t absorb the opinions of the folks you grew up with. In this little fantasy, there’s never been anyone telling you who you are. So who are you?”

[Dr. Wayne W. Dyer, Excuses Begone!, pg. 25]

contemplative man in field 2

7 thoughts on “File Does Not Exist

  1. This is why I like(d) to travel. On the plane, in the hotel, out in fields, I have a blank slate, i.e., I’m alive, so are you.. let’s get coffee (tea, pints, rhubarb stalks, croissants), and find each other out. What I usually find is that we are children in a huge universe of a universe full of children. I’ve also often thought people with Alzheimer’s disease, once they’re past the fearful and sad spots of memory, have a blank slate. For almost all of them, eyes are clear and hopeful — new, every day.

  2. i adore these kinds of meditations. if we do them often enough – practice – i believe we can return to the person we were created to be. whoknows nails it with:

    “we are children in a huge universe of a universe full of children.”

    “and a little child shall lead them.”

    it also reminds me of the quote: “how old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?”

  3. Elizabeth, exactly so, and one of the main thrusts of the book (as well as other of Dyer’s works) – realigning with Source, i.e., God – Who is unlimited…

    ukok, I don’t experience (or haven’t yet, at least) fear in this regard, but confusion, certainly, and sometimes frustration, or the feeling “this is useless, I just can’t get it…”, all of which I’m really working on. I guess the desire to “get” is one of my problems…

    WhoKnows, you’ve really captured something there. Whenever I’m on holiday somewhere, and I see the variety of lifestyles wherever we happen to be, I always find myself thinking, I could live that way, or, that way of being really attracts me, and yet, when we get home, the old ways continue – it’s like I can’t sustain it, which is something this book is also dealing with – the necessity of examining all the limiting beliefs you’ve acquired throughout your life from other people (not to blame them, but to become aware of what no longer works for you, what is no longer a necessary limitation for your authentic self) and to change your thoughts about all these limitations and start living who you really are without them.

    Lucy, you’ve hit the nail on the head with “practice”; it’s a retraining of our thoughts, a realignment of our deepest self with the Divine and the Divine within us, and that takes commitment and constant awareness moment by moment, as well as a set time everyday to engage in it fully.

  4. UKOK, I find that who I am is someone uniquely Loved, if not marvelous or memorable in my own (w)right. I will never know who I am entirely anyhow, because most of me is in eternity. Only One knows us. Besides, we are always changing. We change with each birth as well as with each death, with each pet, with each joy as well as with each heartache, with each encounter out in the world, with each compliment, with each insult, with each gift, with each absolution, and with each lesson detonating us to bits.

    It’s perhaps why we’ve come online –either to ask, “Am I truly Loved?” or to say, “You are truly Loved.” Or both.

  5. Sheila, thinking more about what you’ve said, and ukok too. There is fear along the way, isn’t there, in shedding old ways and old habits and layers of the false self; maybe I’ve forgotten just how much fear there was, as the love grew, and maybe some of what I think of now as confusion or frustration is fear disguised. But I do know it’s far less than many years ago, and it’s His love that makes it so.

Leave a Reply

