Our Lady of Perpetual Help

mary-2.jpg

“Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary! that never was it known that any one who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, and sought thy intercession, was left unaided. Inspired with this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my Mother! To thee I come; before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word incarnate! despise not my petitions, but, in thy mercy, hear and answer me. Amen.”

For an explanation of why saints such as St. Alphonsus Liguori, St. Anselm and others believed that our prayers to Mary are heard and answered more swiftly and assuredly than our prayers to Jesus may be, please see my post today at Consecrated to Mary.

 

5 thoughts on “Our Lady of Perpetual Help

  1. From the standpoint of true Mutual love, the explanations make perfect sense.

    I really have to turn to her more.

  2. Yes, because love is truth, and love and truth include justice (which is not punishment, but simply Truth as we are before Jesus), as well as mercy – but Mary is all mercy!

    Well, I’m assuming “perpetual” in Our Lady’s title is the same as our ordinary understanding of the word. [Merriam-Webster: 1) continuing forever: everlasting 2) occurring continually: constant. Synonyms: permanent, continual, continuous, incessant, perennial.

    We can be filled with confidence; no hesitations!

  3. I would like some information on the original icon. When and where it was done, where it is, etc. I have an over 100 year old pendant from my mother, have found various pictures but yours seems to be the closest.
    What can you tell me.
    Thanks

  4. Louise, if you go to my other blog Consecrated to Mary, and go to the lefthand sidebar under “categories” and click on Our Lady of Perpetual Help, you will find three posts from June 2008 which give the history and background of the icon. Also, in the righthand sidebar there, you will see the book I recommend about the icon, from Liguori Press.

    Here at Contemplative Haven I also have several posts relating to Our Lady of Perpetual Help and the icon; if you look in my archives you will find two you might like, about meditating on the icon, June 27th and July 5th of 2007.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

