Novena for the Coming of the Holy Spirit: Ninth Day

holy-spirit

On the faithful who in You,
Trust with childlike piety,
Deign Your sevenfold gift to send.
Give them virtue’s rich increase,
Saving grace to die in peace,
Give them joys that never end. Amen. Alleluia.

Send down upon me, I beseech You, O Lord, the Holy Spirit, that, inspired and encouraged by Him, I may comply with the duties of my state, carry my crosses patiently, and grow daily in Christian perfection. Grant me, through the same Divine Spirit, the intentions of this Novena or what is most conducive to my eternal salvation and Your glory. Amen.

[From: Favorite Novenas to the Holy Spirit, by Rev. Lawrence G. Lovasik, S.V.D.]

Novena Music:

Spiritus Domini [14] – Gregorian Chant

5 thoughts on “Novena for the Coming of the Holy Spirit: Ninth Day

  1. Gabrielle,

    Thank you for the Novena to the Holy Spirit. May he come upon all to restore the lost back to the loving arms of God

  2. Yes, thank you–also for the wonderful HS graphic and videos.

    And amen, MC. And may He also restore the hypocrite, the whited sepulchre, and the clanging cymbal. (And if that happens to include anyone besides me, them too!)

    Today, I’m wondering how the Poor Souls share in Pentecost, because they certainly must — does anyone know of any writings or even a paragraph on this?

  3. MC and Cathy, you’re very welcome; I enjoyed posting it very much, since I was doing a novena myself. Also, I always enjoy searching for music!

    Carol, thank you too; I took a quick look at St. Gertrude the Great and Catherine of Genoa but didn’t find anything. I don’t recall ever reading anything about the relationship of Pentecost to the souls in purgatory, but if I ever come across something, I’ll definitely let you know!

  4. I was wondering where the Poor souls Carol mentions comes from in regards to Pentecost? I’ve never heard it before either. Wasn’t praying for them this time around.

Leave a Reply

