Divine Mercy Sunday

The quality of mercy is not strain’d,
It droppeth, as the gentle rain from heaven
Upon the place beneath:

raindrops

it is twice bless’d;
It blesseth him that gives, and him that takes:
‘Tis mightiest in the mightiest; it becomes
The throned monarch better than his crown;
His sceptre shows the force of temporal power,
The attribute to awe and majesty,
Wherein doth sit the dread and fear of kings;
But mercy is above this sceptred sway,
It is enthroned in the hearts of kings,
It is an attribute to God himself;
And earthly power doth then show likest God’s
When mercy seasons justice.

[From:Β  The Merchant of Venice, Act IV, Scene I.Β  William Shakespeare]

11 thoughts on “Divine Mercy Sunday

  1. I don’t understand why, if Christ wanted this day celebrated specially as Divine Mercy Sunday, it’s still having trouble taking off. I mean, it even comes with a (Purgatorial-transferrable plenary indulgence, right?) — good gravy, what are we waiting for, I wonder!

    Anyway, our city is in the midst of the clustering upheaval and losing priests and gaining temporaries and one priest to oversee it all who has a very pronounced lithp, hence, all seems to be a tad disorganized, and I am between parishes for the first time in 20+ years– (torn between RC and Maronite rites), and so, I wouldn’t have known who was offering what in observance of this day of His if I hadn’t grabbed the free town newspaper on the way out of a supermarket yesterday. There inside as I searched for job ads fruitlessly, I happened upon a lovely ad about Divine Mercy Sunday being celebrated at 2 pm today just up the street.. it was magnificent.

    Turnout was poor, but the Maronite priest took it upon himself to offer a RC Mass at a (larger) RC church for us.. (his own church is teensy). There was Adoration, Procession, Benediction, incenseincenseincense, a special set of prayings for DM.. and not only did we receive Him, and His Mercy, but we were anointed, too.

    The Lord hears the cry of the poor in spirit, too. I am beginning to understand His mom is always so thankful for the proper attention shown Him.

    I had not observed the conditions for the indulgence since.. well, 4 years ago. I feel I am in spiritual trouble always, but how can I not ask that any possible grace go to loved ones who cannot help themselves?

    Anyway, we finished up with the prayer to St. Michael. What a day.πŸ™‚ The Monstrance was on the altar and the priest was just in front of Him as we were anointed.

    My God, we’re so lucky to be Catholics.

  2. Cathy, the first two lines just came into my head last night, as I was wondering what to post!

    Owen πŸ™‚ indeed.

    Carol, I’m glad you had such a beautiful afternoon for Divine Mercy Sunday. I always wonder too why the turnout is often small, and why some parishes have nothing at all. But we know that the graces and blessings are there for the asking, for ourselves and others. “how can I not ask that any possible grace go to loved ones who cannot help themselves?” Thank goodness for His mercy, because we can do just that…

  3. And that was my thought all through the movie with Pacino and Irons.. where is the mercy? Oh, no –man would have his pound of flesh. Ugh. Thank God we have not only God, but the whole Church.πŸ™‚ And surely the Bard was a Catholic.

    I hope everyone had a wondrous DM Sunday.

  4. Wise words. I heard it said yesterday during the Divine Mercy Mass and novena that mercy is indeed God’s highest/ finest attribute. Excerpts from St Faustina’s diary were read before each decade of the chaplet and there was a lovely litany at the end.
    Still looking in from time to time on everybody’s blogs – God bless and keep up the good work!

  5. Carol, I don’t know which movie that is, but I’ll take your word for it!

    Ann, so glad you had a fine DM Sunday as well, and lovely to have you back. I do hope you will be opening your comments too – it’s been a long, hard winter, and everyone’s been pretty quiet…including me…

  6. The movie is “The Merchant of Venice.” I really have no idea whom I like better, now — Pacino or Irons. I’d better just stick with Ralph Fiennes.

    Sorry (? lol) for my quiet, too — I’m reinventing the house for the zillionth time (family coming), plus it’s only 25 years..I’m still moving in (I hope I’m not the only one who says that). I kinda have to move while I’m still able–I feel the auld bod saying “no” more and more, even when driving.. but anyway, I look in on folks from time to time, too. Very thankful for the posts, not least of all the poetry and prose. We need that, don’t we?

  7. Oh, duh! Carol – goodness, I’m slow sometimes. πŸ™‚ Actually, I didn’t know there were any movies of The Merchant of Venice; I studied it way back, but I don’t think I’ve even seen that one on the stage either.

    Good luck with all the reinventing/cleaning, etc., and I hope you have a lovely time with your visitors! Don’t overdo, though. I know what you mean about “while I’m still able” – I don’t even dare run for the bus anymore, because I know my knees will give out on me and I’ll be rolling down the sidewalk in a most unladylike fashion. πŸ™‚

  8. My daughter was confirmed last Sunday and I was quite impressed that, prior to the service, they assembled the confirmees and recited the chaplet of Divine Mercy.

    I have said the chaplet on my own but that was the first time I had heard it prayed publicly. Kudos to whomever instigated that.

  9. Terry, congratulations on your daughter’s confirmation; I hope you all had a beautiful day together. How wonderful for her to be able to remember for the rest of her life that she was confirmed on Divine Mercy Sunday, and with a special memory too of saying the Chaplet with her group and all of the parents. Truly special.

Leave a Reply

