Prayer for the Beginning of the Day

My friend Kristin sent me this prayer attributed to St. Philaret of Moscow a number of months ago.  It so beautifully encapsulates how I would like to be” that I have incorporated it into my morning prayers ever since:

O Lord, grant me to greet the coming day in peace, help me in all things to rely upon your holy will.  In every hour of the day reveal your will to me.  Bless my dealings with all who surround me.  Teach me to treat all that comes to me throughout the day with peace of soul and with firm conviction that your will governs all.  In all my deeds and words, guide my thoughts and feelings.  In unforeseen events, let me not forget that all are sent by you.  Teach me to act firmly and wisely, without embittering and embarrassing others.  Give me strength to bear the fatigue of the coming day with all that it shall bring.  Direct my will, teach me to pray.  And you, yourself, pray in me.  Amen.

11 thoughts on “Prayer for the Beginning of the Day

  1. Hi, Pia.

    Nice prayer, Gabrielle.

    I pray more with eyes than words, I guess. I get up and look at Him, crucified not only for me but for all His beloved yet willing crucifiers, and just raise my eyebrows in question: Is it really a new day, my Dear? Heart-rendingly, yet with all hope, He does most of His talking with His eyes, too.

  2. That’s great, Pia. I’m glad you got everything sorted out. I’ll be over!

    Carol, that’s so beautiful. I found when I was off from blogging for those three months that I began a more structured prayer time apart from contemplative prayer and intercessory prayer. Also the daily Scripture reading, which I know you have years of experience doing. It’s added another dimension to my prayerlife, and I find I’m benefiting from this structure and practice, which really hadn’t been much a part of my daily life before.

  3. Owen, I started a journal/scrapbook too when I was offline, gluing in/writing prayers, reflections, pictures, etc. I know you’ve been doing that for a long time, but it’s something new for me, and I really love it. Am loving your poetry too – appreciate you stopping by.

    Pia, I’ve updated your link in my sidebar. Looking forward to hearing your “voice” again, whenever you have time to post something. Things can be so time-consuming with sites – everytime I think something will take twenty minutes, it turns into hours or days!

  4. While upstairs a while ago, I chuckled as I recalled a vision that some would call very odd. Not a heavenly one, but one from the cellar room which was converted to a nice bedroom for our youngest. She came home from riding one Feb. day a year ago and said, “Can I just bring him downstairs and try to warm him up?” Knowing her, I asked what it was she had bundled inside her sherpa coat–we didn’t need another “Simon” (rat). Like I would’ve said “no” either way. The stable’s Bantam rooster had fallen into one of the water buckets and was not able to get out. Daughter didn’t find it until she was done riding, and it was some frigid that night–there wasn’t much chance he’d survive. I went downstairs after a while to find she had installed him in the spare cot, his head on a pillow, covered up to his little chin with blankets and quilts, and the electric heater was blowing his feathers. All with no luck. I uncovered him and saw the iridescent blues and greens of his feathers against the bright red head. I looked at his feet, and at all the curves of him, and while grieving that he’d never move again, I utterly marveled at God’s engineering and design. I just marveled. All this intricateness and beauty–for a rooster? Then, I marveled at daughter, who with such high hopes had put food and water nearby and was readying a scratch box for him to recuperate in. Again, there we were — surrounded by love, both me and a rooster. Unreal. That’s how I pray lately. Marveling. Thanking. And trying again and again to meet some instance of Love/love, with love.

    But I like that scrapbook idea, too.🙂

  5. You mean there’s an ongoing archiving of Gypsy Honora the Poor Servant Carol? Ah, yes– precisely what an ever-hopeful Saviour might hold dear.. (I wonder if it will bear any pictures that won’t reveal my soul’s facial road rash.) I’d say He should rather scrapbook the two V-ing mallards this morn who atop a shaded sunny surface managed to transform a dark-cold bicycle-ridden, shopping-carted, snapping-turtled and very car-tired river into a thing of utter, undeniable beauty, tho’ there can be no doubt whatsoever since Mary’s Yes, that He wishes to incarnate Himself in those of His own likeness and image even more beautifully.

  6. Prayed that prayer this morning. We have so much going on and one very big need that hasn’t gone away but in fits and starts and mostly in stops. Thank you for publishing this prayer which will go into my journal this morning. In my writing journal I have taken, for whatever reason to writing in brown ink with my fountain pen – it slows this down, not the colour, the pen. I – well, I’m rambling. Thanks for the prayer.

  7. Pingback: Pray in me « luminousmiseries

  8. Carol – ongoing archiving – I like that. And to think that it all fits snugly into His Sacred Heart. And yes, Mary’s Fiat today! It was nice to see you over at Consecrated to Mary.

    We had a cold day here, but sunny, and I saw two robins!

    Owen, you’re very welcome; I also ask St. Philaret to intercede for me to obtain the graces to help me live it – it’s a tall order, that prayer. I’m pretty sure you know we’re all keeping you in our prayers too. Come back and “ramble” whenever you want. I hope you’re recovering well and not pushing yourself too hard.

Leave a Reply

