Father Corapi on Lent

I was so happy today to read the article entitled, I Want To Wish You A Most Blessed And Holy Season Of Lent, by Father John Corapi, on his website.  (Just scoot down his page a bit; I was not able to link to it directly).  Father Corapi confirms what I have always believed, but have not generally encountered amongst fellow Catholics.  He writes: 

My dear friends, Lent is not a “somber and dark period.” I think at times, even among Catholics and other Christians, that notion has drifted about. Lent is the most hope-filled time we have, culminating in the blaze of glory that is Easter….

I hope you will read the whole article – it’s not very long.  And, “go to confession!” 🙂

7 thoughts on “Father Corapi on Lent

  1. I had to chuckle when a priest remarked to us once that very few people come for the grace of absolution anymore, but when they do, some say, “I don’t know what to confess.. I’m usually pretty good. I just thought I should come to confession at least once or twice a year.” Fr. says he already knows we are pretty good, but thinks maybe if folks come, he can help us find something to confess.. 🙂

  2. Well, for anybody reading here who may feel at a loss like that, just by googling we can find great material on how to make a good examination of conscience, etc., in order to prepare well for reconciliation. And Fr. Corapi has audio/video resource material on his website too, for those who may have the means to purchase it, one of which is “How to Make a Good Confession”.

  3. A wonderful article. Fr. Corapi is amazing—very listen-to-able, as is Fr. Dubay. The joyful commitment of each is so heartening.

  4. Anon, yes, I agree. You know, it wasn’t until reading a little more about Fr. Corapi the other day that I found out he is a contemplative. I knew of his devotion to Mary, but I didn’t know about his contemplative spirituality.

  5. Greetings Gabrielle,

    Fr. Corapi is a blessing.

    Public perceptions of Lent are usually off the mark, and this has been my experience for a long time. People just don’t want to explore the fundamental truth about the presence of God in their lives. If we’re critcized for exploring themes related to suffering, carrying the cross, sacrifice, etc… so be it.

    There’s nothing “dark” about praying to Jesus for the conversion of sinners (including my humble self). Indeed, many Christians were probably un-aware that last Sunday was Laetare Sunday- meaning, to be joyful! Being content and hopeful not that Lent is half-over, but that Easter is almost here! Nothing somber about that!

    I really enjoy your sites,

    -Peace-

  6. Hi Paul; so nice to see you, and thanks for those encouraging words. (We are quite terrible at visiting, aren’t we) 🙂

    I agree wholeheartedly. You know, the past couple of years I have even encountered people on pastoral committees, etc., who want to make Advent maudlin. There seems to be a lack of deep Christian joy, the joy that exists even when we are united with His Passion, or as you speak of, praying for the conversion of hearts.

  7. Well, it wouldn’t seem so dark without a Skybar or a peppermint patty, you know??

    Seriously, tho, Lent was never celebrated in all my growing up. Observed, yes, but not celebrated. For me, there seem just too many ways to look at it, and thus, I still don’t have a good grasp on the joy of it, but I know that that, too, has its purpose for the good. It seems I (and others) mostly lumber along, as asleep to the desert’s joy as a sorrowing Apostle in the Garden, and am waiting with held breath for the moment that the Magdalen hears her name in the Master’s mouth again.

Leave a Reply

