Song for a Winter's Night

                           

Gordon                                                Sarah

 

The lamp is burning low upon my table top
The snow is softly falling
The air is still in the silence of my room
I hear your voice softly calling

If I could only have you near
To breathe a sigh or two
I would be happy just to hold the hands I love
Upon this winter night with you

The smoke is rising in the shadows overhead
My glass is almost empty
I read again between the lines upon each page
The words of love you sent me

If I could know within my heart
That you were lonely too
I would be happy just to hold the hands I love
Upon this winter night with you

The fire is dying now, my lamp is growing dim
The shades of night are lifting
The morning light steals across my windowpane
Where webs of snow are drifting

If I could only have you near
To breathe a sigh or two
I would be happy just to hold the hands I love
Upon this winter night with you
And to be once again with you

* * * * * * * * * * * *

“O lamps of fire!
in whose splendors
the deep caverns of feeling,
once obscure and blind,
now give forth, so rarely, so exquisitely,
both warmth and light to their Beloved.”
St. John of the Cross, The Living Flame of Love, Stanza 3

8 thoughts on “Song for a Winter's Night

  1. Amazing how the song glimpses the longing of the heart to hold the Beloveds hand. Often the deepest longings of the heart, thank you for this beautiful post and welcome back.

  2. …uhm…not sure which of the two versions I like most..Well, not really. Sarah’s version sent chills up my spine. I’m lonely, too. Maybe we can all hold hands.

    So glad to see you back, Gab.

  3. Hello Gab. Thanks be to God for RSS.

    Sarah seems to meet Gordon half way down the street to Cohen’s house. I mean, it’s like she took the words of the Lightfoot and blended them to a phrasing Leonard would use.

    But it’s the words of St. John of the Cross that most touch me.

  4. Hi everyone. It’s wonderful to “hear” your voices after this time away. Monday was my Mom’s anniversary, so along with Mass, I wanted to remember her here because I miss her very much. Miss you all too, and think of you often, especially as we approach Christmas.

    Gordon’s version has had my heart since my youth, but I love Sarah’s too. Living Flame of Love is my favourite from John of the Cross.

    Well, off to work; things are very stressful here because of the bus strike…

Leave a Reply

