Feastday of the Sacred Heart of Jesus


In the recent Sacred Heart Reflection No. 2, we saw that the Heart of Jesus is a place of solitude, a place wherein we may enter and share in His prayer to the Father.

But prayer to the Father is only a portion of the divine activities of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

One day, when St. Gertrude was too ill to attend Mass and regretted missing the pleasure of hearing the sermon, Our Lord asked her if she would like Him to teach her Himself.  “Then Our Lord made her rest on His Heart, so that her soul touched it; and as she remained there some time, she felt two most sweet and admirable movements therein.”

Jesus explained that the two movements of His Sacred Heart operate the salvation of humanity, and that each of the two movements operate in three different manners:

The first movement of His Sacred Heart operates the salvation of sinners, in the following three manners:

  1. Jesus converses continually with His Eternal Father, appeasing the Father’s anger against sinners and inclining the Father to show them mercy;
  2. Jesus speaks to His Saints, excusing sinners to them and urging them to intercede with God for them, with the zeal and fidelity of a brother;
  3. Jesus speaks to sinners themselves, calling them mercifully to penance and awaiting their conversion with ineffable desire.

The second movement of His Sacred Heart operates the salvation of the just, in the following three manners:

  1. Jesus invites His Father to rejoice with Him, that He has poured forth His Precious Blood so efficaciously for the just, in whose merits He finds delight;
  2. Jesus invites all the heavenly host to praise His providences, give Him thanks for all the benefits He has given them, so that He may grant them more in the future;
  3. Jesus speaks directly to the just, giving them many salutary caresses and warning them to profit faithfully by them, from day to day and hour to hour.

Jesus then told St. Gertrude:

“As the pulsations of the human heart are not interrupted by seeing, hearing, or any manual occupation, but always continue without relaxation, so the care of the government of Heaven and earth, and the whole universe, cannot diminish or interrupt for a moment these two movements of My Divine Heart, which will continue to the end of ages.”

O Sacred Heart of Jesus, help us love You more, to the end of ages.

[From:  The Life and Revelations of St. Gertrude the Great] pgs. 227-228

18 thoughts on “Feastday of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

  1. “Then Our Lord made her rest on His Heart, so that her soul touched it …”

    What an extraordinary account. Make me, Lord! Make me!!

  2. This is riveting reading indeed, Gabrielle. And the reassurance at the end of the excerpt echoes that of Scripture. I really must get this book – I can tell it’ll be one of those not- put – down-ables!

  3. I do not know very much about St Gertrude…just that she and another (St Mechtilde?) were also instrumental in the Sacred Heart as well as the well known Sis M M.
    You have sparked an interest with me in her part in the Sacred Heart devotion.
    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Laure, I second that!

    Carol, St. Gertrude does that to a person. 🙂

    Ann, I’m certain that you would find the Life and Revelations very worthwhile. I go back to it again and again, because she has such an amazing range, and so much to teach us.

    teresa, yes, you’re right; if you take a glance at my Sacred Heart Reflection #3, it was four hundred years before St. M.M., and they say that St. Gertrude was the herald of the Sacred Heart devotion, with St. Mechtilde by her side!

  5. When I read the reflections, it reminded me of a picture and hymn I recently saw in the ceremony guide of the Mass of Perpetual Vows of one of the Little Brothers of St. Francis in Boston. He took final vows on the Feast of the Sacred Heart. I’ve placed it online temporarily for you, along with a copy of the Communion Hymn, “There is an Everlasting Home”. I had never seen either of these before – feel free to copy them and keep them.

    http://livingmonstrance.stblogs.com/the-sacred-heart/

    Jerome

  6. I apologize, Jerome; your comments went into spam (I think because you put a link in, and I had changed my settings to “no links in comments” because of awful stuff I was receiving, here and on my Mary blog too) – anyway, they’re supposed to go into comment moderation, not spam, but at least I saw yours before they disappeared altogether…

    I’ll be back after I go look at your link. Thank you so much.

  7. Jerome, the picture and hymn are very beautiful; thank you very much, and if you’re certain that it’s okay for me to use them later, I appreciate that, and will save them.

    That little dove does look very content and very much at home. I’ve just been thinking about how wonderful it must have been for that Little Brother to have taken his final vows on the Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

    If you read this, Jerome, I have a question I thought you might be able to answer, or anyone who reads this also, if anyone has a thought on it: In the Litany of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, there is one description of the Heart of Jesus that I love in particular: “desire of the everlasting hills”. I was just wondering if this line is taken from the Bible, from one of the Psalms, perhaps, or does anyone know what significance it might have?

  8. Gabrielle: look in Genesis, Chapter 49, verse 26…. I found some commentary on it, when I was searching the phrase thru google…very cool, actually. 🙂

  9. Kristin, thank you very much! My own Bible says, “The blessings of the everlasting mountains, the delights of the eternal hills”, which is not a great translation, I guess; but after seeing your comment, I checked the Douay-Rheims Bible online, and it says, “until the desire of the everlasting hills should come”. I can’t figure out though what this chapter of Genesis (I read the preceding verses) has to do with the Sacred Heart!

    Re the other we spoke of, I ran out of time tonight; forgive me – will try Wed. evening.

  10. I think (maybe) it has something to do with God’s longing for us….His desire for our reconciliation to Him….His plan, from the beginning of time, for us to be in union with Him….His intense & perfect love that delights in all that He has made….with His intention of sharing it with us (or something like that….can I introduce some “disclaimers” here? since i am certainly no Biblical scholar)….when I reflect on such terms as “desire”, “delights”, “blessings”, I am reminded of how very MUCH He loves us & longs for us to love Him in return….and isn’t that what the deepest, central theme of the Sacred Heart truly is all about? What a reason for gratitude, comfort and joy today! 🙂

  11. Perhaps the “desire of the everlasting hills” (eternal hope given and residing in Christ), looks all the way back to the Chosen’s first history and the promises of being prospered –nearly every phrase has a deeper meaning, as did Jesus’– and looks all the way forward to the Invited’s, and to the Chosen’s, one in Him.

    As for the dove, I am in love. What a sweet graphic, and more.

  12. By the way, I was moved to try to read more of St. Gertrude, and if this is already a link here, I apologize (I basically only read posts, now, not also sidebars, but also miss things in posts some days). I read the first book last night, and look very forward to this one tonight.

  13. I had never heard that before, or at least it had never caught my attention. I did a Google like kristin, and one interesting commentary was from a site from the Duoay Rheims translation of Genesis:

    “The desire of the everlasting hills”… These blessings all looked forward towards Christ, called the desire of the everlasting hills, as being longed for, as it were, by the whole creation. Mystically, the patriarchs and prophets are called the everlasting hills, by reason of the eminence of their wisdom and holiness.

    So, Gabrielle, perhaps God is showing you that you hold a special place with the patriarchs and prophets? …

  14. Thank you, Kristin, Carol and Jerome. I have a much better sense of it now, thanks to all your comments. The feeling that it evokes in me every time I say it is one of longing and yearning. I feel all of creation in this longing, so Jerome, your comment helps me to see why. And I see now, through Kristin and Carol, the sense of eternity in all of this, as well as union, and how, as Kristin says, isn’t this what the Sacred Heart is all about.

    That is really excellent commentary from the Bible that you found, Jerome, re the patriarchs and the prophets being referred to as the everlasting hills. Along with wisdom and holiness, perhaps it encompasses their longing as well. As for holding a special place with them, I don’t know about being a patriarch (and I won’t be getting into matriarchy here) 😉 but I hope I will be granted a place with the prophets, and that the Holy Spirit will always help me, and all of us, in living our Baptismal promises – priests, prophets and kings (maybe as Baptismal kings, that covers the patriarchy).

    Carol, thank you for the St. Gertrude link. I will be looking at it shortly. (comments with links are going into moderation now, hence the delay). It’s a sad statement on society, but I gotta do it.

  15. Ann, $ well-spent; I’m sure you’ll be very pleased to have it! Her revelations are rich in detail and beauty, and will bring many hours of reflection…

Leave a Reply

