You Are Mine


You Are Mine

I will come to you in the silence
I will lift you from all your fear
You will hear My voice
I claim you as My choice
Be still and know I am here

I am hope for all who are hopeless
I am eyes for all who long to see
In the shadows of the night
I will be your light
Come and rest in Me

[Refrain]  Do not be afraid I am with you
I have called you each by name
Come and follow Me
I will bring you home
I love you and you are Mine

I am strength for all the despairing
Healing for the ones who dwell in shame
All the blind will see
The lame will all run free
And all will know My name

I am the Word that leads all to freedom
I am the peace the world cannot give
I will call your name
Embracing all your pain
Stand up now, walk and live

11 thoughts on “You Are Mine

  1. Beautiful. We sing this sometimes at Communion. It is great to just dwell on the words here before me. (now the link has me humming the tune for the rest of the day, imbedding the words deep into my heart…not a bad thing at all.)
    Thanks, Gab

  2. teresa, both this song and the one posted above it hold a special place in my heart, for personal reasons and also because of special moments at church, special people, special Masses… I find both of them so comforting and reassuring. I’m glad it got you humming today!

    MC, you’re very welcome! I really needed to hear both of these (feeling in need of shepherding and pastoring right now), and while I was listening to them, I thought I might as well just put them up in case anyone else was feeling the same way!

  3. I hadn’t heard either song before – I’m not sure who chooses the hymns in each diocese/ country, but I’d have thought a few of our visiting clergy/ choristers would have brought some back home to introduce here.
    Though I suppose if you were to come here, Gabrielle, you might say the same thing….I don’t know.

  4. I’m sure I would, Ann! I can’t speak for dioceses or countries, but in terms of parishes here, I think it has a lot to do with whomever is leading the choir, at least, at my parish it does. We have several Masses per weekend, each with its own little choir, and each choir with its own favourites!

  5. Oh, Veritas, both Haugen and Haas are quite disparaged here–it’s no wonder that some of Ireland has neither one. Yes, G, it must have to do with whomever is leading the singing –we have two choirs, one is of old folks like me, and one is the folk choir — and one priest in morning Mass (who couldn’t sing for beans even after coffee) always chose songs from our childhood, i.e., “Holy, Holy, Holy.” Our 4 pm has a cantor whose notes we can sometimes reach, and now and then (since our new priest is a very dynamic Confirmation retreat director), we are treated to that which makes of me a deer in the headlights, i.e., “Awesome God” with all the attendant sign language. As Rwandan friend/sister Immaculee says, “My song is my gift for God.” What matters is the love in it.

    Lately (well, for a year or two, now) I’ve been trying to find a music videotape of a song our “folk” (they are extraordinarily multi-talented) choir does in Lent, and now I’m beginning to think they themselves constructed it, but it’s first few lines are, “Behold the Lamb of God, behold the Lamb of God.. Jesus, Jesus.. is the Lamb of God.” In the middle, a male tenor (and sometimes, a child’s tiny voice) sings, “Father, forgive them; they do not understand.. they do not understand what they do,” and then the next set of “Behold” rises to such a triumphant crescendo, I have all I can do not to cry–it literally raises the hair on my arms. (So naturally, I’ve been wanting to share that!) Has anyone found it?

  6. I know that one, JustMe; we started singing it a few years ago, I think it was when the NET teenagers introduced it to us. I’ll find it for you. It is powerfully beautiful.

  7. Have you found the “Behold the Lamb of God ” song?? I need to find this!! Thank you! Ps..”You are Mine” is one of my favs!!

    Thank you!
    Denise

  8. Denise, thanks for stopping by! Much to my surprise and chagrin, I wasn’t able to find it anywhere online; I was taken aback, because it’s so beautiful and I thought sufficiently well-known and loved…

    I also checked YouTube, but none of the “Behold the Lamb of God” ones there are the right one. I know it was written by Father Bob Dufford, S.J., and I think he is associated with Univ. of Dayton, but I can’t even find out what CD it may be on. What I do know is that when it is sung by a beautiful choir, it is one of the most moving songs I’ve ever experienced during Mass, particularly during the Triduum. All I have is a simple recording from a local choir, but I can’t use it or send it to the public, firstly because I don’t have permission, and also, here at St. Blog’s we’re not able to put music (other than links) on our blogs at all; that’s why I was looking for a link from the Internet.  (Even on my blog “Consecrated to Mary”, which is on WordPress, we can only imbed mp3s if the code is coming from somewhere online; we can’t upload our own music files).  If I ever come across it though, I will post a link.

  9. I read somewhere that when a loved one is on their deathbed and afraid, the words that are of most comfort are to let them know you are with them– that they are not alone in their journey. This advice really hit home when I heard “You are Mine” sung at the funeral of my friend’s father. His wife held him in her arms as he died and reassured him that she was with him, and as I heard the words “Do not be afraid I am with you”, I envisioned and have faith that Jesus did the same for him… as the beautiful words and booming music flowing from the grand piano echoed through the quiet church, I could picture her father following Jesus home. So beautiful.

  10. Hi Jenn. It’s so true, and Jesus Himself asked us to comfort the dying, so He knew how much it was needed…

    I can imagine very well how moving this song would be at a funeral and bring great peace to all the loved ones. It has comforted me many times over the last few years in far lesser periods of grief or just needing to know I wasn’t alone. Thanks for coming by and sharing your memories with us.

Leave a Reply

