Shepherd Me, O God


Shepherd Me, O God

[Refrain]: Shepherd me, O God, beyond my wants, beyond my fears, from death into life.

1. God is my shepherd, so nothing shall I want, I rest in the meadows of faithfulness and love, I walk by the quiet waters of peace.

2. Gently you raise me and heal my weary soul, you lead me by pathways of righteousness and truth, my spirit shall sing the music of your Name.

3. Though I should wander the valley of death, I fear no evil, for you are at my side, your rod and your staff, my comfort and my hope.

4. You have set me a banquet of love in the face of hatred, crowning me with love beyond my power to hold.

5. Surely your kindness and mercy follow me all the days of my life; I will dwell in the house of my God forevermore.

10 thoughts on “Shepherd Me, O God

  1. My favorite Psalm, this, and a favorite song, as is the other you’ve posted. I always like to watch/hear big hairy guys sing in Mass. That, like vulnerability in poetry, reveal who they really are. I particularly like it when a little kid has learned a song’s or prayer’s words and turns left, right and all the way around to show us that he/she is one of us, now, lol. God is good; and a refugee soul finds real comfort here.

  2. This song, along with The Summons and Yaweh I Know You are Near, is one of my favorite songs. These three songs bring me to tears. Thank you!!

    Please drop in…I have a gift for you!!! One truly deserved!

  3. JustMe, I know what you mean, but alas, there are far too few men in the various choirs at our parish. When I’m sitting within proximity of a man with a good singing voice during Mass, I find it very comforting.

    Cathy, I love “Yaweh I Know You Are Near” too, but I had never heard of “The Summons”. I googled it and listened to a few versions, and for sure, I’ve never heard it before in my life! But I like it. A little gift? For me? Is it chocolate? Quick, before Lent! I’m going to try to visit everybody tomorrow if I can. Thank you! (upon re-reading this, I feel safe to say that it’s the most disjointed comment I’ve ever made. So glad you all understand me). ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hi, Ukok – thanks, that’s sweet of you. I’ve been a bit scarce lately, to say the least, but I’ll catch up soon! Hope you are well.

    Marie Cecile, the first time I heard “Shepherd Me O God” a few years ago, I went up to the choir director after Mass and asked her for the name, etc., and she took me right into the office to photocopy the sheet music for me! I just love it.

  4. Oh, I didn’t mean guys singing in the choir — gosh, there are only 8 of those on all the earth, lol. Rather, I mean a guy singing beside me or before me or behind me somewhere in Mass; that was one of the things that made me decide to remarry. That’s too hard to explain, but some of you will know what I mean.

    And now, maybe I’ll click on the songs themselves. It’s not that I didn’t see the audio icon, more that i recalled the two being sung in Mass very often. I’m in for a treat, aren’t I? Another one? But there are already so many๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Maybe these two are still two of my favourites because I don’t hear them overly often at my parish.

    Naw. On second thought, I’d still love them even if I heard them every day. ๐Ÿ™‚

    So, it was the voice! I think I fell in love with mine when he told me he actually liked burnt toast.

  6. ROFL! Noo, I mean the humility–there is something so willingly vulnerable in guys singing in Mass. (Huh.. listen to that: sudden silence!!)

    Singe-d food, eh? I knew Cupid was in the air (keeping the downpour company) when the papier mache globe that Mr. Den Leader and Scouts had made was too big to fit through the school’s front doors for the banquet–and he’d run all the way around back to the gym doors. Think of it: a hippie of a man in uniform carrying the world like a big fat baby–what woman could resist?? (Of course, the gym doors were locked, and no one heard him knocking, so he had to run back to the front doors with it..) I think fell for him, despite his global fiasco, when he overwhelmed me with an oak dining table he’d made from an old new England ship’s planks. Until then, I’d had the geekiest chrome set which he knew had caused me no end of mortification. (And of course, I had not missed the fact that not only my own kids, but these wild 10-yr old boys also both liked and respected him.)

    Plus, he owned a canoe. There you go. Irresistible!

Leave a Reply

