I Wonder as I Wander

I wonder as I wander out under the sky
How Jesus the Saviour did come for to die
For poor on’ry people like you and like I
I wonder as I wander out under the sky

When Mary birthed Jesus ’twas in a cow’s stall
With wise men and farmers and shepherds and all
But high from God’s heaven, a star’s light did fall
And the promise of ages it then did recall

If Jesus had wanted for any wee thing
A star in the sky or a bird on the wing
Or all of God’s Angels in heaven for to sing
He surely could have it, ’cause he was the King

 

A Performance of this Christmas Hymn provided by the Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity:

Direct to YouTube for this video is here.

6 thoughts on “I Wonder as I Wander

  1. The nun’s piano playing in this is wonderful, and the younger nun’s singing is exquisite, but you know what I couldn’t get over? The images of the stained glass windows. They are just so beautiful. Especially that one of Mary with little Jesus on her lap. It is just exactly how many of us picture Mary, I think.

  2. Hello. I’m waiting up for “son-who-just-turned-sixteen-today” (well, yesterday, now), and wondering what is a fair curfew for 16? He’s just down the street at another friend’s 16th birthday party, but I really hate this feeling. Ugh.

    Yes, I agree the scenes are beautiful. On the first video (which is now disabled, but still on YouTube) the description says it’s St. Clement Parish in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, and it goes on to say, “the lyrics are well-illustrated by the splendid stained glass.”

    So, tell me about curfews.

  3. I read that, and was surprised to find that the church is in Wisconsin. Tho’ why surprised, I can’t say.

    Curfew? 11 pm on weekends. (Earlier on school nights.) After 11, all heck breaks loose. And of course, a 16-yr old boy will wish to sleep a LOT, and if he gets in after 11, he will feel like he hasn’t slept in years, yet can’t sleep in endlessly the next morn, lest he miss his woodchopping chores on Saturday, or Mass on Sunday.

    Uh, good luck on this one, for it is possible that most of his friends have no curfew, and you, his parents, will thus become ogres of unfairness. Folks from the Stone Age, etc.

  4. Thanks, C.O. This one was a special occasion and close to home (and he phoned to say he’d be later than expected), but what you say sounds good as a general rule. Wow, where’d the years go? Seems like just yesterday Mom was sleeping on the couch, “waiting up” for me!

Leave a Reply

