God-With-Us

All around the world, Christians have been waiting for the birth of the Christ-child.  Although Christmas is a universal Christian celebration, unique cultural/historical experiences are brought to it from each country.  Emmanuel, God-with-us, is always true in a very intimate way, touching the lives and souls of peoples of all nations and cultures in ways closest to their hearts. 

William Kurelek [1927 – 1977] was a Canadian artist and writer of Ukranian descent.  He converted to Roman Catholicism in 1957.  The Niagara Falls Art Gallery houses Kurelek’s The Passion of Christ, a series of 160 paintings based on the Gospel of St. Matthew.

The following video presents many of William Kurelek’s beautiful nativity paintings, which portray a uniquely Canadian perspective.  The accompanying music is Chris de Burgh’s haunting, “When Winter Comes”.

From Canada, ” M E R R Y     C H R I S T M A S     E V E R Y O N E ! ! ! “

” J O Y E U X     N O E L ! ! ! ” 

Direct to YouTube for this video is here.

9 thoughts on “God-With-Us

  1. Merry Christmas, Gabrielle.

    I am recuperating from surgery for breast cancer, and have not been able to keep up lately … but it looks like much inspiration here. Beth

  2. Anon, thank you! Merry Christmas!

    Ann, I hope you have a joy-filled day! Many thanks for your beautiful blog as well, and for your friendship!

    Beth, I knew there was a health-concern, but I didn’t know what. Thanks for being so forthcoming here; it helps us focus with our prayer intentions for you. I wish you a speedy recuperation from the surgery; rest, take good care of yourself, and you will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. I’m at my mom’s with family or I would go to my shelf and look up the DVD I bought a few years back that walks you through most if not all of the paintings in the series you mention. It’s not what the packaging promises and not interactive at all but it’s still a treasure to see those paintings.

  4. Thanks, JustMe. Much appreciated.

    Owen, I can imagine that would be a beautiful DVD. It’s nice that we can see the paintings online at the Niagara Falls Art Gallery link, but it’s a bit slow-going clicking to see each one of the 160! I’m sure you’re having a great time with family at your Mom’s. A good rest and change of pace, I hope.

  5. The sheer number of paintings taken from the gospel surely point to one who took the Word to heart and lived it….through his art.

Leave a Reply

