Cool Friends, No Matter the Climate

Yes, you guys are pretty cool. 

Not only can we talk about spiritual things and bare our souls to each other, but I am surrounded by co-creators – writers, poets, visual/performing artists.

And now a hidden talent has emerged.  After seeing my Snowbound post, JohnT (Cubeland Mystic), formerly of the blog “The Immaculate Direction”, donned his sandals and sunglasses, sauntered into his garden, and created a living sculpture of me:

JT, I will treasure this forever, and thought it was just too funny not to share. I guess I only have two questions: 1)  in a region where sandals and sunglasses are the norm in December, how come JohnT has a toque and scarf so handy?  2)  How does he get romaine lettuce to grow in that moon-crater soil? 🙂

He also sent a picture of his orange-tree, just to make us jealous…

It worked, JT. It worked.

11 thoughts on “Cool Friends, No Matter the Climate

  1. Big day at work today. 1) Arizona, 2) The soil is pretty rich here. Not sure why. I think it was a flood plane once.

    I am not sure were I got those garments from. I’ve never heard the word toque before. Gotta go.

  2. Another FUN and interesting post! 🙂 Yes, there really ARE some very COOL folks who frequent your blog, Gabrielle!

    He may own those wintery items for use on the very HOTTEST days of the year (110 – 120 degrees)….when he goes inside his home, turns the A/C on full blast! 🙂 I had a brother who once lived in Arizona, and he asked if I might like to come there to live….when he told me what the “average” summertime temps were, I was taken back. But, it IS a beautiful place, and when water is added, the soil can be very productive. Perhaps it is all the minerals that are contained therein. Or the constant sunshine. Or the flood plain theory. Any way you look at it, those are some great photos! The citrus fruit looks so yummy!

    No matter what is happening in my day, coming to your blogsite always seems to make it just a little bit better experience… everyone who stops to visit seems to take SERIOUSLY the directives found in the New Testament, telling us to treat each other in loving ways. I just read from 1st Peter Chapter 3 this morning:

    8Finally, all of you, live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble. 9Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing.

    So often I come away from my visit to Gabrielle’s blog with a blessing…

  3. [ROFL!! As I read down and down all the way through that post, I thought, “Wow, Anonymous sounds a lot like Kristin!” Same here, Kristin.. we come away with a blessing.]

    “It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity.” (That is a New England way of saying, “I’m dyin’, heah.. gimme the biggest mug of A & W root beah u got.”) And that icy mug helps for approximately 11 minutes. I am told, however, that Arizona heat is hot but DRY, and that the dryness makes all the difference in bearability. Well, I dunno if I’ll ever find out, but I’m glad things grow there, and that nice people live there.

    And now, I am dying for a piece of FRUIT, lol. For some reason, tho’, oranges cost $6 for 10, and the bank wouldn’t give me a loan for the pineapple.

  4. This was so funny and creative. Wow…not much you can be creative about in the rain…Yes, it’s raining here again, cold rain. Drat! With all the modern scientific equipment they still have difficulty forecasting the weather…

  5. Cube, seriously, you made my day when you sent me that picture. I love you guys. Can you believe a whole year has gone by since we were all discussing Christmas dinner, and you sent me that beautiful picture of your candles/wine on the table? I’m so grateful to know you all, and for everybody’s sense of humour too. Toque is the word here for that style of knitted hat. The pronunciation rhymes with “fluke”.

    Hi, Owen! Yes, I think I look quite stylish. Canadian snowstorm chic…

    Kristin, thank you; your words are always so encouraging. We are a pretty like-minded and harmonious lot, aren’t we? I bet if we were all cloistered together, it wouldn’t take much more than an hour for us to have our facial signals down pat and be silently talking up a storm.🙂

    JustMe, I can’t stand the humidity either, and we get so much of it in Ottawa during the summer. It’s really hard to function. Re fruit, about the only thing we’re buying right now (other than the inevitable apples) are cases of mandarins, usually about $4.99 – $5.99 per case. But Mr. Dole, he makes good pineapple.🙂

    Lucy, whenever I think about Seattle, I think “Fraser”.🙂 Hope the basement situation is on the mend since the flooding. And may you have a very Merry Christmas, in Seattle or otherwise!

    Cathy, I know! It constantly amazes me, the amount of money that they spend on equipment and salaries, and then they rarely seem to get it right. I don’t get it. Another thing I don’t understand is seismology, etc. All this sophisticated equipment, and yet every earthquake seems to take everyone completely by surprise, no matter what country you’re talking about.

    Well, we had our last of three Christmas office parties after work tonight, and everyone is happy because we’re closing between Christmas and New Year’s Day. One of my colleagues gave me a hyacinth bulb in a glass container, which I’m supposed to partially fill with water, then put in a cool, dark spot for eight-to-ten weeks until it starts sprouting, and then I can bring it into a warmer, brighter spot. I hope it works. It would be nice to have a hyacinth.

  6. Does anyone know if there is something symbolic about hyacinth and Easter? I recollection comes to mind but I cannot put it together.

    It’s been a little over a years since I found this place. It is a very blessed site. I am so glad that you keep it going. Have a vary blessed Christmas everyone.

  7. Thank you, JT, for your kind words…and I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas as well. Re hyacinths and Easter, I don’t know of anything in particular, just that they are associated with Easter because they usually bloom in the spring, like tulips, daffodils, etc. But I saw on the “Mary’s Garden” site that another name for hyacinths was “Easter’s Spikes”.

Leave a Reply

