First Sunday of Advent

[Excerpt from: The Essential Advent and Christmas Handbook. A Daily Companion. A Redemptorist Pastoral Publication.]

“The child prophesied by Isaiah was to be born in circumstances that were not at all promising.  The child prophesied by Isaiah was to be born of poor and illiterate parents, in a country oppressed by an occupying army, into a race that was discriminated against and unjustly persecuted.  Yet, despite this reality, Isaiah prophesied that in the birth of Emmanuel, the people would find hope.  He prophesied that, despite the appearance of things, something else was possible, indeed probable, in the divine plan for God’s people.  Here is a message that has meaning for us today. 

* * * * * * * * * * * * 

Something else is possible, indeed probable, despite the none-too-promising realities into which we may have been born, or in which we may find ourselves at the moment.  Waiting.  Journeying.  Advent-ing.  Possibilities.  Probabilities.  Certainties?  And so we begin.  May your season be a blessed one. 

7 thoughts on “First Sunday of Advent

  1. It’s my desire as well, mc. I’m hoping to add a wee bit of extra quiet time for a daily Advent reflection, and the candles in the Advent wreath will be lit daily before dinner. But my main goal is to keep my focus steady all day, every day, at work, home or errand-running, and not get caught up in the whirlwind.

  2. I’m going to pray whirlwinds away from us all for Advent.

    (I don’t pray well, tho’, so, let us greatly secure both our cloche and our anchor.)

    Certainties? Oh, we can believe so.

    Lord, grant your poor and hungry in spirit, Mary’s own Advent quiet, please, for a few minutes every day. In Jesus’ name, we ask.

  3. Although a cloche suits some of us, especially if placed on the chin and drawn upward over one’s face, I believe toque was the intended word. Secure your toque and anchor…

  4. I am just dying here, laughing. I don’t know what the heck you’re talking about half the time, but you keep me in stitches. Well, whether I’m wearing les cloches (bells), toques (knitted hats) or dragging along my anchor (why?), I’ve got to say that your praying whirlwinds away from us hasn’t exactly worked yet. 🙂 Snowstorm and freezing rain here, and I think down in your area as well. How I’ll get to work tomorrow I don’t know.

  5. Aha, see — the anchor shall come in handy.

    Oh, they didn’t tell you? Work’s been cancelled. Trust me..

    Yes, snow here, too. 😦 But not uglysnow, yet. My husband insulted me earlier; said he thought I might be one of those closet-snowlovers after all. For that cruelty, I plan to flush the commode in the downstairs bathroom just as he is showering tomorrow..

Leave a Reply

