Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

“Then, as St. Gertrude reflected on the approaching Festival, and ardently desired that her heart might be prepared to solemnize it, she said to the Mother of God:  Since the glory of your Assumption moves the souls of those who meditate on it so deeply, I desire much to know what the Angels think of the Feast of your Nativity in Heaven, that our devotion may be increased thereby on earth.  The Blessed Virgin replied:  The angels commemorate the ineffable joys which I experienced while in the womb of my mother when they offer me their hommage with the deepest reverence.  The Archangels also contemplate in the mirror of the Blessed Trinity the eminent favors and graces which God bestowed on me above all creatures, and minister to me also; while all the heavenly orders unite in serving and assisting me for the glory of God; and for this they are now recompensed with special joys.”   (From:  The Life and Revelations of St. Gertrude the Great, c. 1256-1302)

Artwork:  Tabernacle of the Visitation:  Birth of Mary (Benozzo Gozzoli, 1491) 

7 thoughts on “Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

  1. God can do the greatest things with the humble (and/or humbled) soul. And that is His plan for each of us.. to do great things in, with, through and for us, because of Christ Who redeemed all God’s creation but especially His favorite creation. And this good Queen is singular in such graces, and cannot help but dispense His great favors. Honestly, we should feel so honored every day of our lives, and so well-loved.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. O Mary, conceived without sin, pray for us who have recource to thee. May we follow the example of the angels and archangels in paying homage to the Blessed Virgin Mary on her birthday. Thanks, Gabrielle, for sharing this discource between St. Gertrude and Our Lady, I hadn’t cme across it before.

  3. Hello, friends. I had a difficult time choosing which paragraph to post from St. Gertrude’s account, because during the Mass on this feastday, she had quite a few different visions of Our Lady!

    I finally chose this one, because two points in particular were drawing me into contemplation: the ineffable joys the Blessed Virgin experienced while in the womb of St. Anne, and the Archangels contemplating in the “mirror of the Blessed Trinity”.

    johnT, thank you. I’m very happy to be home.

  4. “The Blessed Virgin replied: The angels commemorate the ineffable joys which I experienced while in the womb of my mother when they offer me their hommage with the deepest reverence.”

    this is the line that spoke most deeply to me. ineffable joys, yes!

Leave a Reply

