Becoming an Icon of Christ

Recently, a commentor said that she knew someone who, “wanted with all his soul to become a holy icon.”

Does this sound strange?  It shouldn’t, really.  In, “Our Lady of Perpetual Help.  The Icon, Favors and Shrines”, the Redemptorist Fathers write:

“The Greek word ‘eikon’, from which comes the word ‘icon’, means ‘image’.  Christians first used the word to describe Jesus Christ:  He is the image (icon) of the invisible God (Col. 1:15; Heb. 1:3).  The baptized, as well, since they are identified with Christ, are formed into the image (icon) of God and temples of the Holy Spirit (Rom. 8:14).”

11 thoughts on “Becoming an Icon of Christ

  1. I like the idea of becoming an icon, and I am becoming more and more aware that I have to show Christ in my person, and do Christ’s work with my hands (which I’m not doing in my current job). Walk my talk, in other words! I spend a lot of time wondering just how to do this!

  2. A living icon..
    🙂

    No, that doesn’t sound strange. That is precisely what happened to Padre Pio and to St. Francis to an extreme degree, but to all saints to some degree. A living icon of Him.

    I like learning about icons here.

  3. I guess it’s because I’ve been focusing on Our Lady’s Icon personally for several weeks (as opposed to gazing at it for several decades), and also because all of your comments have triggered one thing after another in me and brought out all kinds of interconnections, but something happened while I was preparing dinner this evening that I need some time to think about – related to the Icon. I may take a few days away from here before I post again, but don’t worry about me. It’s just to try to sort out some “connections”.

  4. What a great blessing to offer, John🙂

    I experienced a wee bit of an astounding epiphany the other night at work while sitting on the smoking bench outside. It was one of those life-changing thoughts that outwardly seem so normal, we wonder how we’ve never had that thought before.

    Gabrielle, we’ll miss your posts, but do go jump into His arms.

    How greatly Alive & Well is the Holy Spirit!

  5. To be honest, I guess I never thought of it quite like this (at least, with this choice of language/verbage)….but, the concept/idea of being “Christ-like”….yes! This is extremely scriptural, and provides such encouragement, hope and strength….and is incredibly profound (not to mention mysterious)! We are encouraged, over and over again, by the early patriarchs of the Faith, and all throughout the New Testament, to be “Christ-like”. I have always thought the Christian icons (especially many of those seen in the Greek Orthodox churches) are so powerful and so beautiful. Some have taken my breath away, with I have let the image soak in for a long while. After reflecting on your explanation, Gabrielle, I will never look at them in quite the same way again…… Then again, what do I think I see when I look in the mirror, at my own image? Do I see someone who is an “icon” of Christ? Or at least, is making a serious & ongoing effort to be? You have left me with some important reminders today, and my thoughts have turned inward – AND outward – all at the same time. Thank you, dear lady! God bless you! (((hugs)))

  6. Hello, JohnT. How lovely to see you here. I don’t know how you do it with the link in your name, but you always manage to point us to something wonderfully Carmelite at EWTN!

    Speaking of which, tomorrow, July 15th, on EWTN, “Sunday Night Live” with Fr. Benedict Groeschel will be featuring Fr. Raniero Cantalamessa on, “The Meaning of the Trinity in Our Own Lives”, if any of you can tune in on t.v. or over the Internet. 7:00 p.m., but check the EWTN online schedule for the time zones, etc., and it re-airs Monday and the following Saturday. (Carol, speaking of How greatly Alive and Well is the Holy Spirit). 🙂

    Kristin, icons are very powerful, as I too am learning. A very important question you ask, the most important – what do we see when we look in the mirror? An Icon of Christ, or something, someone other? What do others see reflecting out from within us? Indeed, very scriptural.

  7. Oh my, I’ll love seeing this papal household preacher. I’ve long admired that holy heart. And no doubt, he’ll expand upon exactly what we hope. And also no doubt, I’ll miss it tonight, because of a V.I.P.C. (Phone Call), so I’m glad to see it’ll re-air. Thank you.🙂

Leave a Reply

