Examen – Session 6

As found at: Ignatian Spirituality.com, this six-session series is led by Jim Manney, author of “A Simple, Life-Changing Prayer. Discovering the Power of St. Ignatius Loyola’s Examen”. See: Lunchtime Examen.

*****************************

During the final week of this session, I have been able to manifest love primarily through visiting and helping a loved one who is recovering from a fall and is exhausted from the efforts of rehab.  I do have a recurring (or chronic) distressing situation which I wasn’t really bringing to the Lord, but which I am now.  I don’t know whether it is because Holy Week is approaching and my thoughts are naturally also turning constantly to the Divine Mercy Chaplet, but I have found myself all week turning again and again to “Jesus, I trust in you”, when I feel overwhelmed and hope starts to diminish.

Question, if anyone is reading here:  does anyone have any experience with, or any advice, on how to approach the subject of having the Sacrament of the Sick with someone who is elderly and could go at any moment (a devout Catholic, but who hasn’t raised the subject herself).  Thank you for any advice, and I wish you all a very blessed and peaceful Holy Week.

Final Session:  Session 6 (March 20 – 26, 2013) – Extract: “The Examen leads us to concrete deeds of love and service…”

1) Call and response; “…love manifests itself in deeds rather than words.”  I ask God for light on this, and do something. 

2) Thinking of God like the sun, bathing me in the warmth of His blessings…

3) What sticks out in my mind as I reflect on the day that’s just passed?  I bring it to God and ask Him why it is important – what does it mean?

4) What didn’t go well?  I allow my feelings to guide me.  Please, Lord, reveal anything I need to know about the distressing situations in my life.

5) Help me, Lord, to open my mind and my heart so I can love others.  Challenges…challenges…challenges ahead.

******************************

Another beautiful Lenten resource I’m following: 24-7 PrayerLent 2013 Walk With Us (podcast or video), starting February 13, 2013.

4 thoughts on “Examen – Session 6

  1. Trust in Him is indeed crucial, especially when in an exhaustion time, especially in a spiritually exhausting time. Sometimes when overwhelmed/tired, I just close my eyes, truly lift my face to the skies, and say (to the Holy Trinity), “I love you. I’m so grateful for everything you have done for us all–as well as everything for me and mine–all along the way of mankind. Rain on me, now, our surprising God of all– rain something transforming? And if not, it’s alright. I trust You.”

    As for the aging Communicant, perhaps just say, “How would you feel about (receiving the Sacrament of the Sick)?” Most Catholics have only one response to receiving a grace or a blessing, right? (And as you know, the door-opener gets a grace or a blessing, too!)

  2. Gabrielle, it’s good to see you’re continuing with the examen! And good to see (hear?) you too Carol! …. I’m writing from Ecuador, but I though about your question about the sacrament of the sick. I always approach it from the direction of physical and psychological health – the sacrament is for health, to strengthen the body and mind. It also includes forgiveness of sins… So I usually approach it coming from a discussion of health, with the sacrament a source of physical and mental health to lift the person up. Anyway, if that’s helpful ….

  3. Thanks C and Jerome. Graces, blessings, forgiveness, health… all positive ways to talk about it with her. I guess I was hesitant because she is of the age category that really only knew it as extreme unction, and maybe isn’t even aware of how the sacrament has changed, that it is not only for last rites anymore. I didn’t want her to think that I thought she was on her deathbed, if you know what I mean.

    Take good care of yourself down in Ecuador, Jerome – many blessings for your work there.

Leave a Reply

